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Introduction to Google Analytics
  and Google AdWords for SMB


         Thursday, March 21, 2013
Intro to Google Analytics




                      www.ChescoMarketing.com   2
Overview of Google Analytics
•   Full-featured, powerful analytics
    package – for FREE.
•   Ability to know what your web visitors
    are doing on your site
     – How many? How often? How long?
     – Where did they come from?
     – Did they convert
         (purchase, download, etc.)?
     – Real time monitoring
•   Track Campaigns
    (paid, email, social, etc.)
•   Custom Dashboards/Reports



Learn More
www.google.com/analytics




                             www.ChescoMarketing.com   3   3
GA Conversions & Goals
• Understand and Measure
  sales, downloads, video plays, and
  other actions that are of value to
  you.

• Add Conversion code to Thank
  You/Confirmation Page

• Four Types of Goals
   • URL Destination
   • Visit Duration
   • Page/visit
   • Events

• Up to 4 Goal Sets, each with 5
  goals (see example at right)



                          www.ChescoMarketing.com   4
GA: Custom Campaign Tracking
•    Track custom campaigns for email, social, paid, etc.
•    Create UTM tags
       • Campaign source (utm_source)
       • Campaign medium (utm_medium)
       • Campaign Name (utm_campaign)
•    Add this tagged link to your website, email, use on
     FB, etc.
•    Create tags for EACH source to allow better
     reporting
•    New UTM Tag Manager

Example:
http://www.chescomarketing.com/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=Event%2BInvite

Important: 1st tag preceded by ?, the others preceded by &



How to set up UTM tags:
http://bit.ly/14ankim




                                                  www.ChescoMarketing.com                         5
GA: Dashboard & Reporting

Custom
dashboard




 Account
 Dashboard




             www.ChescoMarketing.com   6   6
Setting Up GA
•   Create a GA account at www.google.com/analytics
•   Get tracking code and add to every page of website/blog.
     – Use a plugin for WordPress Blogs
     – Use include files if site is PHP enabled
•   Your Unique ID: UA-XXXXXXXX-YY
    –   XXXXX = analytics acct #
    –   YY = profile # within acct                                 Sample GA tracking code:
    –   Up to 25 accounts                <script type="text/javascript">


    –   Each account up to 50 profiles    var _gaq = _gaq || [];
                                          _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-XXXXX-Y']);
                                          _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);

                                          (function() {
                                            var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
                                            ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js';
                                            var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);
                                          })();

                                         </script>




                                 www.ChescoMarketing.com                                                              7                                     7
Intro to Google AdWords




                    www.ChescoMarketing.com   8
What is Google AdWords?
•   Known as Paid Search/PPC/Pay-per-click
•   Not FREE.
•   Set a budget for advertising
•   Ads appear as top 3 results in Google SERP and
    along the right side of results.

• Key Definitions of paid ads:
    –   Clicks = # of times ad appears AND is clicked
    –   Impressions = # of times your ad appears
    –   Avg CPC = average cost per click
    –   CTR = # of clicks / impressions.
         (ex: you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, 5/1000= 0.05%)



                             www.ChescoMarketing.com                   9   9
Structure of AdWords Account
                                      Best practice:
                                      Structure your campaign
                                      by multiple adgroups that
                                      focus on
                                      topics, products, etc.




            www.ChescoMarketing.com               10              10
•   Keywords Matching Options
    – Broad & +Modified +Broad
    – “Phrase Match”
        • Matches phrase exactly of
          with words in front or behind
        • Search “women’s hats”
          “marketing group”



    – [Exact Match]
        • Search needs to be exact
    – Return close variants of
      words, plurals, misspellings


•   Negative Keywords
    – Filter out word you do not
      want included



                               www.ChescoMarketing.com   11   11
Inside AdWords

adgroups




keywords




            www.ChescoMarketing.com   12   12
Web: www.ChescoMarketing.com
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/ChescoMG
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ChescoMarketing
LinkedIn Group: http://linkd.in/ChescoLI
Email List: http://eepurl.com/tE1of




                                                Presenter Info:

                                                Jeff Tincher
                                                jeff@610digital.com
                                                @JeffTincher
                                                http://linkd.in/TinchLI




                             www.ChescoMarketing.com                      13

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Intro to Google Analytics and AdWords - ChescoMG 3/19, 2013

  • 1. Introduction to Google Analytics and Google AdWords for SMB Thursday, March 21, 2013
  • 2. Intro to Google Analytics www.ChescoMarketing.com 2
  • 3. Overview of Google Analytics • Full-featured, powerful analytics package – for FREE. • Ability to know what your web visitors are doing on your site – How many? How often? How long? – Where did they come from? – Did they convert (purchase, download, etc.)? – Real time monitoring • Track Campaigns (paid, email, social, etc.) • Custom Dashboards/Reports Learn More www.google.com/analytics www.ChescoMarketing.com 3 3
  • 4. GA Conversions & Goals • Understand and Measure sales, downloads, video plays, and other actions that are of value to you. • Add Conversion code to Thank You/Confirmation Page • Four Types of Goals • URL Destination • Visit Duration • Page/visit • Events • Up to 4 Goal Sets, each with 5 goals (see example at right) www.ChescoMarketing.com 4
  • 5. GA: Custom Campaign Tracking • Track custom campaigns for email, social, paid, etc. • Create UTM tags • Campaign source (utm_source) • Campaign medium (utm_medium) • Campaign Name (utm_campaign) • Add this tagged link to your website, email, use on FB, etc. • Create tags for EACH source to allow better reporting • New UTM Tag Manager Example: http://www.chescomarketing.com/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=Event%2BInvite Important: 1st tag preceded by ?, the others preceded by & How to set up UTM tags: http://bit.ly/14ankim www.ChescoMarketing.com 5
  • 6. GA: Dashboard & Reporting Custom dashboard Account Dashboard www.ChescoMarketing.com 6 6
  • 7. Setting Up GA • Create a GA account at www.google.com/analytics • Get tracking code and add to every page of website/blog. – Use a plugin for WordPress Blogs – Use include files if site is PHP enabled • Your Unique ID: UA-XXXXXXXX-YY – XXXXX = analytics acct # – YY = profile # within acct Sample GA tracking code: – Up to 25 accounts <script type="text/javascript"> – Each account up to 50 profiles var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-XXXXX-Y']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })(); </script> www.ChescoMarketing.com 7 7
  • 8. Intro to Google AdWords www.ChescoMarketing.com 8
  • 9. What is Google AdWords? • Known as Paid Search/PPC/Pay-per-click • Not FREE. • Set a budget for advertising • Ads appear as top 3 results in Google SERP and along the right side of results. • Key Definitions of paid ads: – Clicks = # of times ad appears AND is clicked – Impressions = # of times your ad appears – Avg CPC = average cost per click – CTR = # of clicks / impressions. (ex: you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, 5/1000= 0.05%) www.ChescoMarketing.com 9 9
  • 10. Structure of AdWords Account Best practice: Structure your campaign by multiple adgroups that focus on topics, products, etc. www.ChescoMarketing.com 10 10
  • 11. Keywords Matching Options – Broad & +Modified +Broad – “Phrase Match” • Matches phrase exactly of with words in front or behind • Search “women’s hats” “marketing group” – [Exact Match] • Search needs to be exact – Return close variants of words, plurals, misspellings • Negative Keywords – Filter out word you do not want included www.ChescoMarketing.com 11 11
  • 12. Inside AdWords adgroups keywords www.ChescoMarketing.com 12 12
  • 13. Web: www.ChescoMarketing.com Facebook: www.Facebook.com/ChescoMG Twitter: www.twitter.com/ChescoMarketing LinkedIn Group: http://linkd.in/ChescoLI Email List: http://eepurl.com/tE1of Presenter Info: Jeff Tincher jeff@610digital.com @JeffTincher http://linkd.in/TinchLI www.ChescoMarketing.com 13