SlideShare uma empresa Scribd logo
1 de 35
Baixar para ler offline
January 23, 2013

Search Engine Marketing
Today’s Presenters




         Tim Metzner                         Connie Ross
   Digital Marketing Consultant            Associate Director
 Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople          Search Marketing,
   Startup Weekend Organizer            Empower MediaMarketing



                                    2
Our Experience:
Startups – Regional Co.'s – Global Brands
Empower Media Marketing Vitals
» Full Service Media Agency
» Founded in 1985
» P&G Roots
» 140 Employees
» Independently owned
» Women Owned and Certified
» Nationally Recognized Excellence
Agenda
» What is Search Engine Marketing?
» Overview of the Categories
  • Paid Search
  • Local Search
  • Organic Search
  • Mobile Search




                       5
What is Search Engine Marketing?
Search Is a Core Behavior




                                  Now
                            4 billion
                             searches per day…
                                and growing      7
Search Engine Marketing Outlook
» Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013
» Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2
   years followed by Video & Social

 Digital Media    2011 (billions)   2012 (billions)       2013 (billions)                            % change
                                                                                                       2011 - 2013

  Paid Search         $14.38            $17.03                     $18.85                                  31%
 Online Display       $7.61             $8.94                       $9.93                                  30%
  Social Media        $1.00             $1.23                       $1.66                                  66%
    Mobile            $1.23             $1.80                       $2.52                                 105%
     Video            $2.16             $3.09                       $4.20                                  94%




                                                  Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011


                                          8
Search Engine Marketing
» For Searchers…
 • It’s about Better Research
 • It’s about Convenience


» For Advertisers…
 • It’s about Being Found
 • It’s about Being Relevant



                          9
SEM Terminology
              Search Engine
                Marketing
                  (SEM)

                          Search Engine
    Paid Search           Optimization
       (PPC)
                                (SEO)
       Paid                   Owned & Earned
 Paid Media
                   10
Search Engine Marketing Categories

 Paid Search (PPC)     • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing


                       • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized
    Local Search         information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO)

                       • Process of improving the visibility of a website in search
Organic Search (SEO)     engines via the "natural" or organic search results

                       • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on
   Mobile Search         mobile devices

                       • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking,
  Vertical Search        Shopping, Travel, etc.)



                                 11
Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page
                         Query


                                                 Local
      Paid Ad                                 Listings




                                    Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    12
Search Engine Market Share
» Google remains the leader in the search space
                                Percent of U.S. Search Queries
  Search Alliance – 29%

                                          3%   2%
                          14%



                                                                                 Google

         15%                                                                     Yahoo!

                                                                                 Bing

                                                                           67%
                                                                                 Ask

                                                                                 Aol




                                    Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012
                                                    13
Paid Search (PPC)
What is Paid Search?
                         Query


                                              Local
      Paid Ad                              Listings




                                 Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    15
Relevancy is King
 » Ads are ranked based on many factors

                   Text Ad         Keyword
  Amount                                        Ranking on
    You’re                                        Search
Willing to Pay                                  Results Page
                   Landing          Account
                    Page          History/CTR



 Maximum CPC Bid     Relevancy/Quality Score


                             16
Paid Search Ad Rank
» Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad Rank

Competitor   Max CPC Bid       Ad Quality       Ad Rank   Position

    A            $4        x       1        =      4         4

    B            $3        x       3        =      9         2

    C            $2        x       6        =     12         1

    D            $1        x       8        =      8         3
Adjusting Match Types

Broad                   +Broad Modified          “Phrase”                  [Exact]                -Negative

  •Any query                •Any query             •Query must                •Ad only appears        •Query can not
   containing the            containing the         contain the words          if the query is         contain the
   terms in any order        term or close          in the order you           exactly what is         term or
   and along with            variation              have them                  contained in the        phrase
   other terms               following the         •Somewhat limits            brackets               •Ads will not
  •Earns a LOT of            “+” symbol             impressions and           •Least amount of         display
   impressions and          •Limits the             can increase               impressions
   may be less               amount of              CTR%
   relevant                  impressions
                             typically
                             generated



  Instant Oil Changes   +Instant +Oil +Changes   “Instant Oil Changes”     [Instant Oil Change]        -Cheap

                        Instant and Speedy Oil   Inexpensive instant oil
        Instant Oil                                                         Instant Oil change    Cheap Oil Changes
                               Changes                 changes

    Instant Changes



                                                       18
Anatomy of a Text Ad

                                             Text Ad Elements & Character Limits
                                             Headline –             25 Characters
                                             Description Line 1 –   35 Characters
                                             Description Line 2 –   35 Characters
                                             Display URL –          35 Characters




DO’s                                           DON’Ts
•Provide a strong call-to-action               •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless
•Make a compelling offer                       verified within 2 clicks of landing page
•Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group          •No words in all CAPS
•Write in proper text format                   •No more than one “!” in description
•Look at competitors for inspiration           •Display URL must match Destination URL




                                        19
Anatomy of a Text Ad




   Sitelinks           Location Extensions



                 20
Campaign Optimizations
           • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality
             score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s
 CTR%      • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused


           • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection
             of low cost terms is the ultimate goal
 CPC$      • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause


           • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest
             positions and consider increasing match type or pausing
Avg. Pos   • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning




                                   21
Local Search
What is Local Search?
                          Query


                                               Local
      Paid Ad                               Listings




                                  Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                     23
What is Local Search
Local Listings Management
» 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online
  can be there when their customers need them
» Manage the top 100 local listing sites including
  Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc.




March 2012 BIA/Kelsey's User View Wave VII Report


                                                    25
SEO
What is Search Engine Optimization?
                         Query


                                                 Local
      Paid Ad                                 Listings




                                    Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    27
How Do Search Engines Create Rankings?




                 28
Three Optimization Areas for SEO
   1. Content Optimization
       •    New Content
       •    Updated Content
   2. HTML Code Optimization
       •   Title tags
       •   Meta tags
       •   Header tags
       •   Image ALT tags

   3. Inbound Marketing
       •   Influencing other channels
       •   Increasing links back to site

*IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research.
                                           29
Mobile


30
What is Mobile Search?

                                 Local Listings




Paid Ads
           Paid Ads




                       Organic
                       Results



                      31
Mobile Search Facts
» Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market

» 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70%
  of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour.

» Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013.




                      Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com




                                       32
Q&A…
Thank you for attending!

• If you have follow-up questions or want more
  information, please contact us:

     Tim Metzner: http://linkedin.com/in/timmetzner
     Connie Ross: http: http://linkedin.com/pub/connie-
       ross/3/48a/448
Important Terms
» Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or
    documents using keywords.
»   Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine.
»   Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine.
»   Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or
    documents, usually to facility search engines on the web.
»   Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an
    online session.
»   Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully
    viewed and other tracking purposes.
»   Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while
    online.
»   Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s
    browser.




                                          34
Key Resources Inform Search Plans
                           Industry-Leading Tools
 Campaign           Industry            Search                                   SEO
                                                      Keyword Research
Automation           Trends          Intelligence                              Analysis




                           Strategic Partnerships
 Certified Agency       Search Engines      Local Listings Database   Web Analytics Vendors




              Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior
                                           35

Mais conteúdo relacionado

Mais procurados

Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for BeginnersGoogle Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Simplilearn
 

Mais procurados (20)

Technical SEO Audit
Technical SEO AuditTechnical SEO Audit
Technical SEO Audit
 
Google Ad-words Fundamentals
Google Ad-words Fundamentals Google Ad-words Fundamentals
Google Ad-words Fundamentals
 
Search enginge optimization (seo) proposal
Search enginge optimization (seo) proposalSearch enginge optimization (seo) proposal
Search enginge optimization (seo) proposal
 
Google adwords ppt by sushen jamwal
Google adwords ppt by sushen jamwalGoogle adwords ppt by sushen jamwal
Google adwords ppt by sushen jamwal
 
Basic SEO Presentation
Basic SEO PresentationBasic SEO Presentation
Basic SEO Presentation
 
Digital Marketing Proposal by Gdata
Digital Marketing Proposal by GdataDigital Marketing Proposal by Gdata
Digital Marketing Proposal by Gdata
 
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for BeginnersGoogle Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
 
Search Engine Marketing 101
Search Engine Marketing 101Search Engine Marketing 101
Search Engine Marketing 101
 
A Digital Marketing Proposal for Warrior Hockey
A Digital Marketing Proposal for Warrior HockeyA Digital Marketing Proposal for Warrior Hockey
A Digital Marketing Proposal for Warrior Hockey
 
Google AdWords - An Inside Look At The World's Most Powerful Online Ad Platform
Google AdWords - An Inside Look At The World's Most Powerful Online Ad PlatformGoogle AdWords - An Inside Look At The World's Most Powerful Online Ad Platform
Google AdWords - An Inside Look At The World's Most Powerful Online Ad Platform
 
Digital Marketing proposal
Digital Marketing proposalDigital Marketing proposal
Digital Marketing proposal
 
SEO Toronto Presentation
SEO Toronto PresentationSEO Toronto Presentation
SEO Toronto Presentation
 
SEO Services Proposal PowerPoint Presentation Slides
SEO Services Proposal PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSEO Services Proposal PowerPoint Presentation Slides
SEO Services Proposal PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Creating a digital marketing strategy
Creating a digital marketing strategyCreating a digital marketing strategy
Creating a digital marketing strategy
 
SEO, Search Engine Ranking Position (SERP) Report
SEO, Search Engine Ranking Position (SERP) ReportSEO, Search Engine Ranking Position (SERP) Report
SEO, Search Engine Ranking Position (SERP) Report
 
Seo for-content
Seo for-contentSeo for-content
Seo for-content
 
Introduction to Search Engine Optimization
Introduction to Search Engine OptimizationIntroduction to Search Engine Optimization
Introduction to Search Engine Optimization
 
SEO & SMO Strategy, Checklist, Recommendations
SEO & SMO Strategy, Checklist, RecommendationsSEO & SMO Strategy, Checklist, Recommendations
SEO & SMO Strategy, Checklist, Recommendations
 
Digital marketing strategy
Digital marketing strategyDigital marketing strategy
Digital marketing strategy
 
Digital Marketing Proposal
Digital Marketing ProposalDigital Marketing Proposal
Digital Marketing Proposal
 

Destaque

Destaque (20)

Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101
Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101
Paid Search Marketing - PPC 101
 
An Introduction to PPC Paid Search
An Introduction to PPC Paid SearchAn Introduction to PPC Paid Search
An Introduction to PPC Paid Search
 
SEO + SEM Presentation
SEO + SEM PresentationSEO + SEM Presentation
SEO + SEM Presentation
 
Search Engine Marketing Presentation
Search Engine Marketing PresentationSearch Engine Marketing Presentation
Search Engine Marketing Presentation
 
PPC 101
PPC 101PPC 101
PPC 101
 
SEM Presentation (SEO and PPC Basics)
SEM Presentation (SEO and PPC Basics)SEM Presentation (SEO and PPC Basics)
SEM Presentation (SEO and PPC Basics)
 
Intro to Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Marketing - HawkEye Search Marketing
Intro to Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Marketing - HawkEye Search MarketingIntro to Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Marketing - HawkEye Search Marketing
Intro to Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Marketing - HawkEye Search Marketing
 
Search Engine Marketing 101
Search Engine Marketing 101Search Engine Marketing 101
Search Engine Marketing 101
 
Ppc ppt
Ppc   pptPpc   ppt
Ppc ppt
 
Seo Marketing Plan Ppt
Seo Marketing Plan PptSeo Marketing Plan Ppt
Seo Marketing Plan Ppt
 
35 Paid Search Optimization Techniques - Ben Kirshner
35 Paid Search Optimization Techniques - Ben Kirshner35 Paid Search Optimization Techniques - Ben Kirshner
35 Paid Search Optimization Techniques - Ben Kirshner
 
Sem ii-t-3-direct marketing
Sem ii-t-3-direct marketingSem ii-t-3-direct marketing
Sem ii-t-3-direct marketing
 
6 Essential Steps For Effective SEM
6 Essential Steps For Effective SEM6 Essential Steps For Effective SEM
6 Essential Steps For Effective SEM
 
How to integrate SEM in your marketing strategy
How to integrate SEM in your marketing strategyHow to integrate SEM in your marketing strategy
How to integrate SEM in your marketing strategy
 
SEMpdx PPC Basics January 2013
SEMpdx PPC Basics January 2013SEMpdx PPC Basics January 2013
SEMpdx PPC Basics January 2013
 
Google Adwords Presentation 1 09
Google Adwords Presentation 1 09Google Adwords Presentation 1 09
Google Adwords Presentation 1 09
 
Scanning Electron Microscope
Scanning Electron MicroscopeScanning Electron Microscope
Scanning Electron Microscope
 
Building adwords campaigns
Building adwords campaignsBuilding adwords campaigns
Building adwords campaigns
 
Sem Vs Seo
Sem Vs SeoSem Vs Seo
Sem Vs Seo
 
Cynthia Johnson's PubCon Slides - "Pinterest and SEO"
Cynthia Johnson's PubCon Slides - "Pinterest and SEO"Cynthia Johnson's PubCon Slides - "Pinterest and SEO"
Cynthia Johnson's PubCon Slides - "Pinterest and SEO"
 

Semelhante a Sem 101 presentation

6910 week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
6910   week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm6910   week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
6910 week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
Seth Garske
 
Proving the value of search 1.0
Proving the value of search 1.0Proving the value of search 1.0
Proving the value of search 1.0
451 Marketing
 
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Ralph Paglia
 
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Social Media Marketing
 

Semelhante a Sem 101 presentation (20)

SEO on the SERPs - Brighton SEO Closing Talk
SEO on the SERPs - Brighton SEO Closing TalkSEO on the SERPs - Brighton SEO Closing Talk
SEO on the SERPs - Brighton SEO Closing Talk
 
Google Adwords 101
Google Adwords 101Google Adwords 101
Google Adwords 101
 
Make digital work for you
Make digital work for youMake digital work for you
Make digital work for you
 
6910 week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
6910   week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm6910   week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
6910 week 4 - sem, seo, & cxm
 
Inbound Marketing Overview Nov 2012
Inbound Marketing Overview Nov 2012Inbound Marketing Overview Nov 2012
Inbound Marketing Overview Nov 2012
 
Search Marketing
Search MarketingSearch Marketing
Search Marketing
 
2 Naild Digital Marketing Overview Indepth
2 Naild Digital Marketing Overview Indepth2 Naild Digital Marketing Overview Indepth
2 Naild Digital Marketing Overview Indepth
 
Is Digital Marketing Right for My Business
Is Digital Marketing Right for My BusinessIs Digital Marketing Right for My Business
Is Digital Marketing Right for My Business
 
Proving the Value of Search
Proving the Value of SearchProving the Value of Search
Proving the Value of Search
 
Proving the value of search 1.0
Proving the value of search 1.0Proving the value of search 1.0
Proving the value of search 1.0
 
Paid Search Basics & Best Practices (Bing, Google)
Paid Search Basics & Best Practices (Bing, Google)Paid Search Basics & Best Practices (Bing, Google)
Paid Search Basics & Best Practices (Bing, Google)
 
Bing nashville ama_11.8.11
Bing nashville ama_11.8.11Bing nashville ama_11.8.11
Bing nashville ama_11.8.11
 
Why choose status solved for seo
Why choose status solved for seoWhy choose status solved for seo
Why choose status solved for seo
 
Why Choose Status Solved For SEO
Why Choose Status Solved For SEOWhy Choose Status Solved For SEO
Why Choose Status Solved For SEO
 
Search landscape-2017
Search landscape-2017Search landscape-2017
Search landscape-2017
 
The Search Landscape in 2017
The Search Landscape in 2017The Search Landscape in 2017
The Search Landscape in 2017
 
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
 
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns   roadmap to successful web mark...
Maximizing return on pay per click campaigns roadmap to successful web mark...
 
Maximize ROI by Unlocking the Full Value of Undiscovered Content
Maximize ROI by Unlocking the Full Value of Undiscovered ContentMaximize ROI by Unlocking the Full Value of Undiscovered Content
Maximize ROI by Unlocking the Full Value of Undiscovered Content
 
Paid Search and SEO for Startups
Paid Search and SEO for StartupsPaid Search and SEO for Startups
Paid Search and SEO for Startups
 

Último

Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for ViewingMckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Nauman Safdar
 
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan CytotecJual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
ZurliaSoop
 
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al MizharAl Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
allensay1
 

Último (20)

QSM Chap 10 Service Culture in Tourism and Hospitality Industry.pptx
QSM Chap 10 Service Culture in Tourism and Hospitality Industry.pptxQSM Chap 10 Service Culture in Tourism and Hospitality Industry.pptx
QSM Chap 10 Service Culture in Tourism and Hospitality Industry.pptx
 
Kalyan Call Girl 98350*37198 Call Girls in Escort service book now
Kalyan Call Girl 98350*37198 Call Girls in Escort service book nowKalyan Call Girl 98350*37198 Call Girls in Escort service book now
Kalyan Call Girl 98350*37198 Call Girls in Escort service book now
 
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...
joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...
 
Organizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with CultureOrganizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with Culture
 
Katrina Personal Brand Project and portfolio 1
Katrina Personal Brand Project and portfolio 1Katrina Personal Brand Project and portfolio 1
Katrina Personal Brand Project and portfolio 1
 
Berhampur CALL GIRL❤7091819311❤CALL GIRLS IN ESCORT SERVICE WE ARE PROVIDING
Berhampur CALL GIRL❤7091819311❤CALL GIRLS IN ESCORT SERVICE WE ARE PROVIDINGBerhampur CALL GIRL❤7091819311❤CALL GIRLS IN ESCORT SERVICE WE ARE PROVIDING
Berhampur CALL GIRL❤7091819311❤CALL GIRLS IN ESCORT SERVICE WE ARE PROVIDING
 
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 UpdatedCannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
 
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for ViewingMckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
 
HomeRoots Pitch Deck | Investor Insights | April 2024
HomeRoots Pitch Deck | Investor Insights | April 2024HomeRoots Pitch Deck | Investor Insights | April 2024
HomeRoots Pitch Deck | Investor Insights | April 2024
 
Lucknow Housewife Escorts by Sexy Bhabhi Service 8250092165
Lucknow Housewife Escorts  by Sexy Bhabhi Service 8250092165Lucknow Housewife Escorts  by Sexy Bhabhi Service 8250092165
Lucknow Housewife Escorts by Sexy Bhabhi Service 8250092165
 
Arti Languages Pre Seed Teaser Deck 2024.pdf
Arti Languages Pre Seed Teaser Deck 2024.pdfArti Languages Pre Seed Teaser Deck 2024.pdf
Arti Languages Pre Seed Teaser Deck 2024.pdf
 
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League CityHow to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
 
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan CytotecJual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
Jual Obat Aborsi ( Asli No.1 ) 085657271886 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec
 
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investorsFalcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
 
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al MizharAl Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
 
Dr. Admir Softic_ presentation_Green Club_ENG.pdf
Dr. Admir Softic_ presentation_Green Club_ENG.pdfDr. Admir Softic_ presentation_Green Club_ENG.pdf
Dr. Admir Softic_ presentation_Green Club_ENG.pdf
 
UAE Bur Dubai Call Girls ☏ 0564401582 Call Girl in Bur Dubai
UAE Bur Dubai Call Girls ☏ 0564401582 Call Girl in Bur DubaiUAE Bur Dubai Call Girls ☏ 0564401582 Call Girl in Bur Dubai
UAE Bur Dubai Call Girls ☏ 0564401582 Call Girl in Bur Dubai
 
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
 
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
 
WheelTug Short Pitch Deck 2024 | Byond Insights
WheelTug Short Pitch Deck 2024 | Byond InsightsWheelTug Short Pitch Deck 2024 | Byond Insights
WheelTug Short Pitch Deck 2024 | Byond Insights
 

Sem 101 presentation

  • 1. January 23, 2013 Search Engine Marketing
  • 2. Today’s Presenters Tim Metzner Connie Ross Digital Marketing Consultant Associate Director Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople Search Marketing, Startup Weekend Organizer Empower MediaMarketing 2
  • 3. Our Experience: Startups – Regional Co.'s – Global Brands
  • 4. Empower Media Marketing Vitals » Full Service Media Agency » Founded in 1985 » P&G Roots » 140 Employees » Independently owned » Women Owned and Certified » Nationally Recognized Excellence
  • 5. Agenda » What is Search Engine Marketing? » Overview of the Categories • Paid Search • Local Search • Organic Search • Mobile Search 5
  • 6. What is Search Engine Marketing?
  • 7. Search Is a Core Behavior Now 4 billion searches per day… and growing 7
  • 8. Search Engine Marketing Outlook » Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013 » Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2 years followed by Video & Social Digital Media 2011 (billions) 2012 (billions) 2013 (billions) % change 2011 - 2013 Paid Search $14.38 $17.03 $18.85 31% Online Display $7.61 $8.94 $9.93 30% Social Media $1.00 $1.23 $1.66 66% Mobile $1.23 $1.80 $2.52 105% Video $2.16 $3.09 $4.20 94% Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011 8
  • 9. Search Engine Marketing » For Searchers… • It’s about Better Research • It’s about Convenience » For Advertisers… • It’s about Being Found • It’s about Being Relevant 9
  • 10. SEM Terminology Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Search Engine Paid Search Optimization (PPC) (SEO) Paid Owned & Earned Paid Media 10
  • 11. Search Engine Marketing Categories Paid Search (PPC) • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized Local Search information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO) • Process of improving the visibility of a website in search Organic Search (SEO) engines via the "natural" or organic search results • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on Mobile Search mobile devices • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking, Vertical Search Shopping, Travel, etc.) 11
  • 12. Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 12
  • 13. Search Engine Market Share » Google remains the leader in the search space Percent of U.S. Search Queries Search Alliance – 29% 3% 2% 14% Google 15% Yahoo! Bing 67% Ask Aol Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012 13
  • 15. What is Paid Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 15
  • 16. Relevancy is King » Ads are ranked based on many factors Text Ad Keyword Amount Ranking on You’re Search Willing to Pay Results Page Landing Account Page History/CTR Maximum CPC Bid Relevancy/Quality Score 16
  • 17. Paid Search Ad Rank » Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad Rank Competitor Max CPC Bid Ad Quality Ad Rank Position A $4 x 1 = 4 4 B $3 x 3 = 9 2 C $2 x 6 = 12 1 D $1 x 8 = 8 3
  • 18. Adjusting Match Types Broad +Broad Modified “Phrase” [Exact] -Negative •Any query •Any query •Query must •Ad only appears •Query can not containing the containing the contain the words if the query is contain the terms in any order term or close in the order you exactly what is term or and along with variation have them contained in the phrase other terms following the •Somewhat limits brackets •Ads will not •Earns a LOT of “+” symbol impressions and •Least amount of display impressions and •Limits the can increase impressions may be less amount of CTR% relevant impressions typically generated Instant Oil Changes +Instant +Oil +Changes “Instant Oil Changes” [Instant Oil Change] -Cheap Instant and Speedy Oil Inexpensive instant oil Instant Oil Instant Oil change Cheap Oil Changes Changes changes Instant Changes 18
  • 19. Anatomy of a Text Ad Text Ad Elements & Character Limits Headline – 25 Characters Description Line 1 – 35 Characters Description Line 2 – 35 Characters Display URL – 35 Characters DO’s DON’Ts •Provide a strong call-to-action •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless •Make a compelling offer verified within 2 clicks of landing page •Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group •No words in all CAPS •Write in proper text format •No more than one “!” in description •Look at competitors for inspiration •Display URL must match Destination URL 19
  • 20. Anatomy of a Text Ad Sitelinks Location Extensions 20
  • 21. Campaign Optimizations • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s CTR% • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection of low cost terms is the ultimate goal CPC$ • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest positions and consider increasing match type or pausing Avg. Pos • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning 21
  • 23. What is Local Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 23
  • 24. What is Local Search
  • 25. Local Listings Management » 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online can be there when their customers need them » Manage the top 100 local listing sites including Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc. March 2012 BIA/Kelsey's User View Wave VII Report 25
  • 26. SEO
  • 27. What is Search Engine Optimization? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 27
  • 28. How Do Search Engines Create Rankings? 28
  • 29. Three Optimization Areas for SEO 1. Content Optimization • New Content • Updated Content 2. HTML Code Optimization • Title tags • Meta tags • Header tags • Image ALT tags 3. Inbound Marketing • Influencing other channels • Increasing links back to site *IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research. 29
  • 31. What is Mobile Search? Local Listings Paid Ads Paid Ads Organic Results 31
  • 32. Mobile Search Facts » Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market » 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70% of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour. » Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013. Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com 32
  • 33. Q&A… Thank you for attending! • If you have follow-up questions or want more information, please contact us: Tim Metzner: http://linkedin.com/in/timmetzner Connie Ross: http: http://linkedin.com/pub/connie- ross/3/48a/448
  • 34. Important Terms » Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or documents using keywords. » Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine. » Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine. » Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or documents, usually to facility search engines on the web. » Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an online session. » Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully viewed and other tracking purposes. » Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while online. » Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s browser. 34
  • 35. Key Resources Inform Search Plans Industry-Leading Tools Campaign Industry Search SEO Keyword Research Automation Trends Intelligence Analysis Strategic Partnerships Certified Agency Search Engines Local Listings Database Web Analytics Vendors Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior 35