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What is Content Strategy?
“Planning for the creation, delivery, and
governance of useful, usable content.”
-Kristina Halvorson, Brain Traffic
In Other Words…It’s A Map
Credit: U.S. Army Europe Images
The map that leads to you users
Strategy Matters
Alignment builds trust
Users know what to expect and what comes next
Resources used most effectively & efficiently
No Shirt, No Shoes, No Content
Content creation without strategy lacks theme & purpose
Lack of purpose confuses your audience
Confused audiences don’t convert
Don’t Waste Resources
Credit: Grant Hutchinson on Flickr
Good Content Is…
Useful
Solves a problem
Has context
Considerate
Consistent
If there’s no substance…

you’re just creating noise.
Generic Gets Overlooked
• People don’t pay more for generic
• People don’t get excited about generic
• People don’t share average, 

they share greatness
Developing Your Content Strategy
Allocate A Budget & Timeline
Like any company initiative, 

this is going to take time and resources.
Plan for it.
What Are You Budgeting For?
• Content audit
• Analytics review
• Identification of problems
• Smart guesses
• Experiments
• User testing
• Evaluation
• Implementation
Forecasting & Projections
Start With Where You Win
A small catering company
has a 50% conversion rate
for calls about their funeral
luncheons.
What Comes Before That?


Current website generates 5 calls per month.
Lead Value
Average order value x conversion rate = lead value
$1000 x 50% = $500
Content Value
average # of leads x average lead value
5 x $500 = $2500
Estimating The Value Of Improvements
Content isn’t magic - use realistic estimates
Quantifying The Possible Impact
Landing page redesign to get 2 more calls each month.
Two new leads = $1000/month incremental value
Costs: Content Creation Isn’t Free
Time x Resources = Cost of Content
6 hours x $50/hr = $300
Net Upside
$1000 - $300
= $700 first month + $1000/month thereafter
…and that’s for just one landing page
What If It Doesn’t Work?
Maximum Gain - estimated amount you’ll save
Maximum Loss - what it costs to create/fix the content
Calculating Probability of Success
Max Loss: Estimate of project cost x probability of failure

$600 x 25% = $150

Max Gain: Estimated gain x probability of success

$800 x 75% = $600
When you add up all the potential savings, it’s easier to
understand where Content Strategy fits in your budget.
Set Objectives
Define what you want to accomplish
Set realistic goals & stretch goals
Plan how you’ll measure
Research, Research, Research
Market, user, and competitive research
Quantitative and qualitative Data
Get used to asking WHY
User Stories
Who’s the user?
What do they want?
Why?
Content Audit
There are tons of templates available online - 

choose what makes sense for your biz, your goals,
and your budget.
Fix What Needs Fixing
Does it match the audience wants/needs?
Is it clear, easy to follow, and understandable?
Does it make it easy for the reader to take the next step?
Is it accurate and up-to-date?
Can we do better?
Find The Gaps
Client: Grieving Martha
Flesh Out Your Content Map
Remember the map - how do your customers get from
point A to point B?
Plan For Different Types Of Content
Pages
Blog posts
Product listings
Landing pages
Social Images
Include In Your Content Plan
Who are we creating this for?
What do we want them to get out of it?
Where is it going to be posted?
When is it going to be published?
Why are we doing this?
Outline Your New Content
Primary message
Target audience
Key terminology
Supporting messaging
Voice & tone
Create Your Editorial Calendar
CoSchedule

http://coschedule.com/editorial-calendar-template
HubSpot

http://offers.hubspot.com/blog-editorial-calendar
Vertical Measures

http://www.verticalmeasures.com/content-editorial-calendar-template/
Google Docs templates

https://drive.google.com/templates?q=editorial+calendar&ddrp=1
Measure, Analyze, Iterate
Remember those objectives we started with?
Compare your performance to your goals.
Did it work? Why or why not?
Do it again or try something new.
Questions?
@jenjamar
collaborate@jenjamar.com

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Small Business Guide to Content Strategy

  • 1.
  • 2. What is Content Strategy? “Planning for the creation, delivery, and governance of useful, usable content.” -Kristina Halvorson, Brain Traffic
  • 3. In Other Words…It’s A Map Credit: U.S. Army Europe Images
  • 4. The map that leads to you users
  • 5. Strategy Matters Alignment builds trust Users know what to expect and what comes next Resources used most effectively & efficiently
  • 6. No Shirt, No Shoes, No Content Content creation without strategy lacks theme & purpose Lack of purpose confuses your audience Confused audiences don’t convert
  • 7. Don’t Waste Resources Credit: Grant Hutchinson on Flickr
  • 8. Good Content Is… Useful Solves a problem Has context Considerate Consistent
  • 9. If there’s no substance…
 you’re just creating noise.
  • 10. Generic Gets Overlooked • People don’t pay more for generic • People don’t get excited about generic • People don’t share average, 
 they share greatness
  • 12. Allocate A Budget & Timeline Like any company initiative, 
 this is going to take time and resources. Plan for it.
  • 13. What Are You Budgeting For? • Content audit • Analytics review • Identification of problems • Smart guesses • Experiments • User testing • Evaluation • Implementation
  • 15. Start With Where You Win A small catering company has a 50% conversion rate for calls about their funeral luncheons.
  • 16. What Comes Before That? 
 Current website generates 5 calls per month.
  • 17. Lead Value Average order value x conversion rate = lead value $1000 x 50% = $500
  • 18. Content Value average # of leads x average lead value 5 x $500 = $2500
  • 19. Estimating The Value Of Improvements Content isn’t magic - use realistic estimates
  • 20. Quantifying The Possible Impact Landing page redesign to get 2 more calls each month. Two new leads = $1000/month incremental value
  • 21. Costs: Content Creation Isn’t Free Time x Resources = Cost of Content 6 hours x $50/hr = $300
  • 22. Net Upside $1000 - $300 = $700 first month + $1000/month thereafter …and that’s for just one landing page
  • 23. What If It Doesn’t Work? Maximum Gain - estimated amount you’ll save Maximum Loss - what it costs to create/fix the content
  • 24. Calculating Probability of Success Max Loss: Estimate of project cost x probability of failure
 $600 x 25% = $150
 Max Gain: Estimated gain x probability of success
 $800 x 75% = $600
  • 25. When you add up all the potential savings, it’s easier to understand where Content Strategy fits in your budget.
  • 26. Set Objectives Define what you want to accomplish Set realistic goals & stretch goals Plan how you’ll measure
  • 27. Research, Research, Research Market, user, and competitive research Quantitative and qualitative Data Get used to asking WHY
  • 28. User Stories Who’s the user? What do they want? Why?
  • 29. Content Audit There are tons of templates available online - 
 choose what makes sense for your biz, your goals, and your budget.
  • 30. Fix What Needs Fixing Does it match the audience wants/needs? Is it clear, easy to follow, and understandable? Does it make it easy for the reader to take the next step? Is it accurate and up-to-date? Can we do better?
  • 33. Flesh Out Your Content Map Remember the map - how do your customers get from point A to point B?
  • 34. Plan For Different Types Of Content Pages Blog posts Product listings Landing pages Social Images
  • 35. Include In Your Content Plan Who are we creating this for? What do we want them to get out of it? Where is it going to be posted? When is it going to be published? Why are we doing this?
  • 36. Outline Your New Content Primary message Target audience Key terminology Supporting messaging Voice & tone
  • 37. Create Your Editorial Calendar CoSchedule
 http://coschedule.com/editorial-calendar-template HubSpot
 http://offers.hubspot.com/blog-editorial-calendar Vertical Measures
 http://www.verticalmeasures.com/content-editorial-calendar-template/ Google Docs templates
 https://drive.google.com/templates?q=editorial+calendar&ddrp=1
  • 38. Measure, Analyze, Iterate Remember those objectives we started with? Compare your performance to your goals. Did it work? Why or why not? Do it again or try something new.