This presentation was given at both the National Conference on College Conference Centers 2008 and the University Continuing Education Assocation Annual Marketing Seminar 2009.
4. It s your lucky day!
It’s your lucky day!
W ’ll h l
We’ll help you prepare for your journey!
f j !
In the beginning…
Seeing the big picture
Measurable Success:
58% increase in site visits 2007 to 2008
89% increase in inquiries 2007 to 2008
Cost Per Lead as Low as $4 per lead
Let’s Go!
5. Where are they found?
www YourCollegeSite edu
www.YourCollegeSite.edu
How’d they get there?
Direct Traffic
Print /Radio/TV Ads
Direct Mail
Browser Bookmarks
Referral Sources
Institutional Website
st tut o a ebs te
Directory Sites
Your students’ websites/Social Sites
Partner Sites
E‐mail Links
6. Where are they found?
H ’d h h ?
How’d they get there?
Online Advertising
BBanner Ads
Ad
Search Engines
Organic Search
Paid Search
How do you know?
y
Website Analytics like (free) Google Analytics
7. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
8. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
9. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
10. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
11. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
12. What will you need?
A l i
Analytics
Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)
G
Geographical Location of Visitors
hi l L i f Vi i
Funnels / Goals
Rf
Referral Sources
l S
Keywords
13. What tools will you need?
L di P
Landing Pages / Inquiry Forms
/ I i F
Definition
M
More than just an e‐mail address!
h j il dd !
Advantages
L d G
Lead Generation
ti
Measurability
Control Info
Universal Access
Internal Routingg
Automation of Conversation
14. What tools will you need?
L di P
Landing Pages / Inquiry Forms
/ I i F
Definition
M
More than just an e‐mail address!
h j il dd !
Advantages
L d G
Lead Generation
ti
Measurability
Control Info
Universal Access
Internal Routingg
Automation of Conversation
17. What tools will you need?
S
Search Engine Marketing
h E i M k i
Pay Per Click Advertising (PPC)
Biddi K
Bidding on Keywordsd
Writing Your Ad Text
Creating Personas
Deciding How Much to Bid
Pay Per Lead Advertising (PPL)
Advantages – ROI, Measurability, Geo‐Targeting
Jungle Guide (or when to get a consultant)
g ( g )
18. Capture the Prize
Y l i l
Your tools are in place, now what?
h?
Benchmark Your Data with Others
Ed
Eduventures Cli k Th R Q&A
Click Thru Rate Q&A
In‐House Benchmarking Study
19. Banner ad campaigns
Average
0.45%
0.40%
0.35%
0 35%
0.30%
0.25%
0.20% Average
0.15%
0.10%
0 10%
0.05%
0.00%
Survey AL.com NSTA Chronicle AJC
20. PPC campaigns
Average
Average
2.00%
1.80%
1.60%
1.40%
Average
1.20%
1.00% 1.00%
0.80%
0 80% 0.80%
0 80%
0.60% 0.60%
0.40% 0.40% Average
0.20% 0.20%
0.00% 0.00%
AO Survey AO Survey
21. Capture the Prize
Y l i l
Your tools are in place, now what?
h?
Benchmark Your Data with Others
T k D P
Track Data Patterns Over Time
O Ti
Visits
Conversions / Conversion Rate
Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
For PPC, Keyword Performance
25. Monitoring Keywords
Contracted Clicks
Campaign Clicks To-Date Top 5 Keywords To-date Clicks
Social Work
(MSW) 1320 159 university of alabama msw 21
bamabydistance.ua.edu 15
MSW 13
social work degrees 12
Alabama MSW 8
Top Weekly Keywords
(1/26-2/1) Clicks
university of alabama msw
i i f lb 14
Alabama distance learning
msw 5
bamabydistance.ua.edu 5
MSW 5
Social Work Programs 5
Inquiries Generated Rate
13 20.31%
26. Capture the Prize
Y l i l
Your tools are in place, now what?
h?
Benchmark Your Data with Others
T k D P
Track Data Patterns Over Time
O Ti
Visits
Conversions / Conversion Rate
Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page Variations
32. Capture the Prize
Y l i l
Your tools are in place, now what?
h?
Benchmark Your Data with Others
T k D P
Track Data Patterns Over Time
O Ti
Visits
Conversions / Conversion Rate
Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page Variations
Determine ROI
33. Determining ROI
O
Overall AO CPL = Approx. $89/Lead
ll AO CPL A 8 /L d
Overall PPC CPL = Approx. $50/Lead
What’s a Lead Worth to You?
Each AO Lead worth Approx. $240/Lead
Overall ROI = ($240‐$89)/$89 = 169%
PPC ROI = ($240‐$50)/$50 = 380%
PPC ROI ($240 $50)/$50 380%
34. Capture the Prize
Y l i l
Your tools are in place, now what?
h?
Benchmark Your Data with Others
T k D P
Track Data Patterns Over Time
O Ti
Visits
Conversions / Conversion Rate
Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page Variations
Determine ROI
Optimize, Optimize, Optimize
Develop a Relationship with Your Leads!!!
35. Customer Relationship Mgt
How do you manage leads?
Automation – E‐mail
Personal Phone Calls (In House/Out Sourced)
Personal Phone Calls (In‐House/Out‐Sourced)
Direct Mail (personalized?)
E‐Newsletters
49. Thank you!
Adam Miller
da e Jo
Johnnie Blackburn
e ac bu
amiller@ccs.ua.edu jblackburn@ccs.ua.edu
(205) 348 7587
(205) 348‐7587 (205) 348 5991
(205) 348‐5991
The University of Alabama
College of Continuing Studies
Box 870388
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487‐0388
www.BamaByDistance.ua.edu
www BamaByDistance ua edu