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Chapter 9.ppt
1.
Slide 9.1 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels
2.
Slide 9.2 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Learning objectives • Distinguish between the different types of digital media channels • Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of each digital media channel for marketing communications • Assess the suitability of different types of digital media for different purposes
3.
Slide 9.3 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Questions for marketers • Which digital communications media should we select for different types of campaign? • Which are the success factors which will make our campaigns more effective?
4.
Slide 9.4 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website Source: Smart Insights, 2011a
5.
Slide 9.5 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.2 Percentage who consider different information sources as important when researching or purchasing a product or service Source: Nielsen (2011)
6.
Slide 9.6 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.3 Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the natural and paid listings Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.
7.
Slide 9.7 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.4 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results Source: Optify (2011)
8.
Slide 9.8 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on? • On page optimisation: – <title> tag = 4.9/5 – Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5 – Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8 – Keyword in document name = 2.8 – Meta name description = 2/5 – Meta name keywords = 1/5 • Off-page optimisation: – More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5 – Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5 – Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5 – Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5 – Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5 – Social media signals (newer ranking signal) See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
9.
Slide 9.9 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Which factors affect returns from paid search? • Distribution of daily budget • Amount bid (Max CPC). • Clickthrough rate • Creative quality including creative testing • Campaign structure • Match types especially negative matches • Use of content network • Time-of-day (day parting) • Landing page quality • Click fraud! • * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score especially important
10.
Slide 9.10 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Online PR • What it? – ‘the management of reputation - the planned and sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics” The UK Institute of PR (IPR) – ‘the managed process of communication between one group and another … (it) is the method of defining messages and communicating them to target audiences in order to influence a desired response’. Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)
11.
Slide 9.11 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 1 . A t t r a c t i n g v i s i t o r s t h r o u g h s e a r c h 3 . B u i l d i n g C a m p a i g n B u z z 2 . E n g a g e m e n t & D i a l o g u e 4 . D e f e n s i v e / C r i s i s Online PR E-PR activities o Surveys and polls o Audience research: o Social media inc user-generated content o Own blog o Influencing media owners E-PR activities o Inbound link-building o Content creation o Blogs o Feeds (RSS) o Press releases o Influencing media owners E-PR activities o Brand protection o Monitoring and response: o Social media o Influencing media owners E-PR activities o Propagating ‘big idea’ o Web editorial contacts o Viral agents o Seeding viral o Press releases o Influencing media owners The key areas of online PR
12.
Slide 9.12 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.5 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase Source: Performics (2010)
13.
Slide 9.13 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural listings
14.
Slide 9.14 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.7 Gatorade social media command centre video
15.
Slide 9.15 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.8 Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available from within a category of ‘social media marketing’
16.
Slide 9.16 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.9 Popularity of social sharing services in France, Germany and the United Kingdom Source: http://www.addthis.com/services/compare-countries, accessed October 2011
17.
Slide 9.17 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.10 The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)
18.
Slide 9.18 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.11 Distribution of length of time against purchase Source: Prussakov (2011b)
19.
Slide 9.19 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.12 Behavioural ad targeting process
20.
Slide 9.20 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.13 Banner blog (www.bannerblog.com.au) ad review site
21.
Slide 9.21 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.14 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales Source: ecircle (2011)
22.
Slide 9.22 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.15 E-mail response measures Source: GSI (2011) Whitepaper
23.
Slide 9.23 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.16 E-mail service provider (www.emailreation.com) Source: SmartFOCUS DIGITAL
24.
Slide 9.24 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Figure 9.17 Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet searches, June 05–March 06 Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006
25.
Slide 9.25 Chaffey et
al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013 Table 9.4 Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications tools for promoting an online presence
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