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KNOW YOUR
NUMBERS!
What Numbers You Should Be Tracking, and How To Use Them In
Your Marketing To Unlock Hidden Revenues, Instantly Increase
Conversion Rates, and Ultimately Your Grow Profits.
CHRIS MERCER – CO-FOUNDER, MeasurementMarketing.io
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
• Google Analytics, Google Tag Manager,
Google Data Studio, Etc…
• Helping Marketers Know Their Numbers &
Grow Their Numbers
• Measurement Marketing
HI, I’M MERCER…
Chris “Mercer” Mercer
Co-Founder,
MeasurementMarketing.io
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Measurement Marketing Is…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Measurement Marketing Is…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Measurement Marketing Is…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Measurement Marketing Is…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
(ie… your goal today)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
What Numbers
You Must
KNOW
(Your KPI’s)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
Unique Tip To
Guarantee You
Can TRUST
Your Numbers
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
How Basic
Math Leads
to Better
Conversion
Rates
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
Using Your
Numbers As
Guides To
Hidden
Revenue
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
Why Your
Dashboards
Don’t Work
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
One Number
You’re
Probably
Already Using
That’s
Poisoning Your
Business
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
In This Session…
The Power to
Predict The
Future
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Should You Care?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
First Tip…
Numbers
Don’t Matter
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
First Tip…
People
Do
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
First Tip…
Just Kidding!
People
Don’t Matter
Either
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
“Numbers People” Don’t See Numbers
Behavior
Matters
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Second Tip…
Track Every
Measurable
Behavior You
Can
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Second Tip…
Track Every
Measurable
Behavior You
Can
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Second Tip…
100 10
10% CVR(Your Conversion Rate)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Second Tip…
100 1020
50%
CAR(Cart Abandonment Rate)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Track Every Measurable Behavior
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Formula To Calculate Conversion Rate…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Formula To Calculate Conversion Rate…
Finish / Started
(Then multiply by 100)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Formula To Calculate Conversion Rate…
10 Finish /
100 Started
(Then multiply by 100)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Formula To Calculate Conversion Rate…
10 / 100 = .1 x 100 = 10%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Here’s Where It Goes Terribly Wrong…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Numbers, KPI’s, Metrics, Oh My!
100
People Enter
(“Start”)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Numbers, KPI’s, Metrics, Oh My!
10
People Buy
(“Finish”)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Numbers, KPI’s, Metrics, Oh My!
10
100
= 10%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
What’s The Important Data Here?
100
Enter
10
Buy
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Definitions Matter Most!
100
Enter
10
Buy
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Definitions Matter Most!
Define:
Enter
Define:
Buy
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Definitions Matter Most!
Define:
Entrance
Define:
Thanks Page
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
Let’s DOUBLE
Your Conversions!
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
50
Unique
Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
10
50
= 20%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
So… What’s
the real CVR?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
5
Unique Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
5
Unique Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
How To Double Your Conversions
100
Entrances
50
Unique Entrances
10
Thanks Pages
5
Unique Thanks Pages
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Here’s Where It Goes Terribly Wrong…
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Bad Decisions Come From Bad Numbers
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Bad Decisions Come From Bad Numbers
If “normal” is
10% but someone
else is getting
20%...
What are you
thinking?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Bad Decisions Come From Bad Numbers
If “normal” is
20% and you’re
getting “20%”...
What are you
thinking?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
TBV – “Trust But Verify”
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
TBV – “Trust But Verify”
TRUST you
did it right
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
TBV – “Trust But Verify”
VERIFY you
did it wrong
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks & Targets
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: CCVR (Cold Traffic)
1 - 3%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: CCVR (Warm Traffic)
5 - 10%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: CAR
65 - 85%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: Upsell CRV
10 - 20%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: Opt-in CRV (Cold Traffic)
25 - 35%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: Opt-in CVR (Warm Traffic)
45 - 65%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: Average Stick
3 - 4
Months
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Benchmarks: Offer to Cart CVR
8 - 12%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
.5% CCVR
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
10% 10% 50%
.5% CCVR
1000 100 10 5
(5 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
10% 10% 50%
.5% CCVR
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
25% 10% 80%
.5% CCVR
1000 250 25 5
(5 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
25% 10% 80%
.5% CCVR
1000 250 25 5
(5 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
25% 10% 68%
.8% CCVR
1000 250 25 8
(8 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Find The KPI
30% 10% 66%
1% CCVR
1000 300 30 10
(10 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting Your Future
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
30% 10% 66%
1% CCVR
1000 300 30 10
(10 / 1000) * 100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
30% 10% 66%
$1000
1000 300 30 10 @ $100
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
1000 300 30 10 @ $100 = $1000
30% 10%
2000 600 60 20 @ $100 = $2000
66%
30% 10% 66%
Past
Results
Next
Week
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
2000 600 60 20 @ $100 = $2000
30% 10% 66%
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual ? ? ? ? ? ?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual ? ? ? ? ? ?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual 2000 600 30 10 $100 $1000
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual 2000 600 30 10 $100 $1000
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Forecasting 101
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual 2000 600 30 10 $100 $1000
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Now You Know Where To Optimize
Starts Leads Cart Buy AOV $
Plan 2000 600 60 20 $100 $2000
Actual 2000 600 30 10 $100 $1000
Plan = 10%
Actual = 5%
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
One Number
You’re
Probably
Already Using
That’s
Poisoning Your
Business
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
LTV
(Lifetime Value)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
LTV = $1000
How much
should your
CPA be?
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
LTV = $1000
CPA = $1000
No profit.
EVER.
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
LTV = $1000
CPA = $500
$500 Profit
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
The Poison Metric
Spend $10,000
Get 20 Customers
(CPA = $500)
LTV = $1000
$10,000 Profit
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
VOR
(Velocity Of
Return)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
It’s not about
how much your
spending, it’s
about how fast
your making it
back!
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
Spend $10,000/mo
Get 20 Customers
(CPA = $500)
LTV = $1000
VOR = 5 Months
$10,000 Profit
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
Spend $10,000/mo
Get 20 Customers
(CPA = $500)
LTV = $1000
VOR = 5 Months
$10,000 Profit
In 5 Months
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
Jan Feb Mar Apr May
Spend $10,000
Return $4,000 $4,000 $4,000 $4,000 $4,000
Profit ($6,000) ($2,000) $2,000 $6,000 $10,000
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
30
Days
60
Days
90
Days
120
Days
150
Days
Invest $10,000
Return $4,000 $4,000 $4,000 $4,000 $4,000
Profit ($6,000) ($2,000) $2,000 $6,000 $10,000
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
A Better Tonic…
30
Days
60
Days
90
Days
120
Days
150
Days
Invest $10,000
Return $0 $6,000 $1,000 $500 $500
Profit ($10,000) ($4,000) ($3,000) ($2,500) ($2,000)
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Your Dashboards Don’t Work
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Your Dashboards Don’t Work
People Build
Dashboards To
Report Data
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Your Dashboards Don’t Work
The Goal:
Just Looking at
the Report
Gives You The
Insight
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Your Dashboards Don’t Work
Build Your
Dashboards To
Answer
Specific
Questions
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Why Your Dashboards Don’t Work
Target Avatar CPL Day 0 Day 30
Group A $30 $0 $30
Group B $30 $30 0
Group C $10 $30 $60
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
Measurement Marketing Is…
Choice
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
• Want Slides?
Text TCS2018 to (512) 540-3068
• Want Free Training?
(Free Facebook Group)
http://measure.tips/essentials
• Want Email?
mercer@measurementmarketing.io
THANK YOU!
Chris “Mercer” Mercer
#TCS2018 | @mercertweets
THANK YOU!

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Know Your Numbers - The Math Behind Your Marketing

Notas do Editor

  1. Know #’s, Trust #’s, Different Platforms, Different Tools, Dashboards, Confident in Results