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UTNYTTE DATA I
FACEBOOK
ANNONSERING
UTNYTTE LATTERLIG GODE
SEGMENTERINGS-
MULIGHETER
FØRST!
T-SKJORTE BRANSJEN
VIRKER BARE OM
FORSKJELLIGE MÅLGRUPPER
TRIGGER PÅ FORSKJELLIGE
BUDSKAP
OVER TIL
CASENE
7
492 STUDIER
Bunntekst her8
9
10
Bunntekst her11
12
FUS BARNEHAGENE
Nettside AdWordsFacebook
Barnehage med
ledige plasser
Bunntekst her19
CA 1000 NYE PRODUKTER I KVARTALET
RESULTATER
RELEVANSE:
GEOGRAFI + LOKAL PERSON
• A/B TEST
• A: Statiske generelle
annonser, B: Dynamiske
personlige annonser
• A sin målgruppe: Helt lik som
B, bortsett fra at B er delt
opp i 255 geografiske
segmenter
• B slår A :
– 2x så «lav» CPM
– 5X så høy klikkrate
– 2X så høy konvert.rate
– Totalt: 2x5x2=20 ganger
så bra ROI med dynamisk
annonse som med statisk
SPØRSMÅL
Hvorfor er det ingen som ser meg?
2
3
Be om en like!
4
Enkle spørsmål. Folk orker bare ikke...
5
Bygg følgere.
Inviter de som engasjerer seg i innholdet
6
Tagg relevante sider i dine oppdateringer
7
Lange tekster funker (om det er relevant).
Facebook vekter tiden folk bruker på innholdet
ditt høyt. Dersom du deler poster med ”lange”,
relevante historier vil de få bra ranking i
nyhetsstrømmen.
8
Tilpasset innhold gir bedre
rekkevidde. Vertikale eller
1:1-videoer passer på mobil
og gir høyere rangering i
nyhetsstrømmen.
9
Sider som har en fullstendig utfylt
profilside blir rangert høyere i
nyhetsstrømmen. Bruk tid på å fylle ut
alle informasjonsbolkene på siden din.
10
Facebook advertising and automation at scale
Learnings from Advanced Advertisers
Kalle Tiihonen – Customers, Nordics
Meet
Jan
Jan is a smart guy.
Is manual optimization
really the best way to
spend his time?
By using his time on manual optimization, Jan misses a
lot of strategic work he could be doing. Maybe he
could let the computers to the manual stuff?
You need to let the
computers do their job
so you can concentrate
on what’s important
You don’t necessarily have to invest a lot of time to set up an
extensive automation framework. Leveraging Facebook’s
own optimization will get you already quite far.
Facebook’s
Revenue
per User
investor.fb.com
Facebook is not showing
more ads per person but
instead optimizing their
ad delivery to get better
results for advertisers. It
would be dumb not to
utilize the work Facebook
has put into this.
Facebook also has a
lot of information of
their users Jan
doesn’t have.
Facebook uses this
to guide their ad
delivery.
How can I fully utilize
Facebook’s optimization?
1. Use large audiences
2. Bid boldly
3. Automate
1. Use large audiences
Think first
before going granular
Facebook works best with
big audiences and big budgets
There are still
reasons to split
your ad sets
sometimes
1. Audience-specific creatives
E.g. show different creative for men and women
2. Different conversion values
E.g. LTV of iOS installs is higher than Android
installs → bid differently
3. Insights beyond Facebook’s breakdowns
E.g. breakdown by interest, city or custom
audience. Facebook provides some reporting
breakdowns: age, gender, placement, device, …
4. Insights for 3rd party tracking
3rd party tracking can show insights only on ad /
ad set level.
Specific messaging
Specific bids/budgets
Learnings
More effective optimization
Granular Broad
It’s a tradeoff.
P.S. Note that insights from granular splits might not have enough
data to be statistically significant!
2. Bid boldly
Bid your
true value
Usually it’s not that easy.
True value =
The average life-time profit that you’re getting per conversion during a one day
click-through, without view-through attribution window
“Spend €10k per day
with €5 CPA”
Which one
is your priority?
The problem of this goal:
- Would you be willing to spend
more than €10k if your CPA
stays below €5?
- If your CPA is above €5, do you
still want to spend the entire
€10k?
“Spend as much
as possible (10k) while
CPA stays below €5”
Actually, there were two alternative goals in the previous
statement. These are also the two main optimization
strategies. You can only do one of these at a time.
“Spend €10k per day
with as low CPA as
possible”
OR
“Spend as much as possible while
CPA stays below €5”
a.k.a.
CPA-constrained
“Spend as much
as possible while
CPA stays
below €5”
Just bid €5 for conversions and
Facebook will get you the
conversions below that if your
budget is not a constraint.
CPA-constrained
campaigns
Problem:
CPA not on the
desired level
→ Use Average Bidding
→ Scale bid up/down based on CPA
→ Adjust bid conversion window
Facebook recently introduced average bidding which lets you
define your target as an average. However, it’s still quite
conservative so sometimes you’ll have to bid higher to reach
your desired CPA.
If a large share of your conversions are occurring with a lag
longer than one day, you should adjust your bid conversion
window to reflect that.
“Spend as much
as possible while
average CPA
stays below €5”
Note: When you look at the CPA
of an ad, ad set or a campaign,
it’s always an average over some
time period. To have an average
CPA of €5, you pay more than
€5 for some of the conversions.
CPA-constrained
campaigns
Problem:
Initial CPA
higher than bid
Low delivery
Less data for
optimization
High CPA
→ Start with a higher bid
→ Use budget-controlled
campaigns and scale budget
up/down based on CPA
If your initial bid is not high enough, it can make
your delivery plummet. You can start with a
higher bid and adjust it to the appropriate level
after one or two days.
Another option is to use budget-controlled
campaigns and scale the budget to reach your
desired CPA. That will be covered next.
“Spend €10k per day with as
low CPA as possible”
a.k.a.
Budget-constrained
How to spend my budget
only to the cheapest conversions?
“Spend €10k per
day with as
low CPA as
possible”
With budget-controlled
campaigns, Facebook gets
you conversions until you
have exhausted your
budget.
3. Automate
• Computers are not intelligent -> they need
quite exact instructions to know what to do
and then do exactly what they were told to do
• If your goals are vague or non-existing, you
cannot expect to get any good results by
automation (same applies to all online
advertising though)
Goal setting
is key to the
automation
• It’s easy to make one busy by focusing on micro-managing
ads, bids, audiences etc. And usually it’s very hard for
people to change habits and automation can feel like losing
control although what you’re doing is just changing
approach
• If you want to reach significant scale (+500k/month) with
hundreds (or even tens of thousands) of active ads you
cannot afford to focus on every single detail like you can
when working with only small campaigns with couple of
audiences
• You need to see the whole picture and focus on trying to
improve total performance of the whole operation and not
spend time trying to squeeze CPA down in one ad by 5%
• You need to focus your time on finding significant
performance improvements or new audiences. You can
spend unlimited amount of time tweaking minor details and
changing results only little whereas e.g. Finding new
audiences or new types of creatives can give you
multiplying effect
Forest
vs
trees
• All regular actions – e.g. budget changes
based on performance
• Creative rotation. Ad fatigue can hit
campaigns hard and it’s quite easy to get
around that
• Campaign creation if your bottleneck is
regularly created campaigns
• Audience selection
• Creative production
What to
automate
1. Use large audiences
2. Bid boldly
3. Automate what you can
You need to let the
computers do their job
so you can concentrate
on what’s important
Tusen takk!
kalle@smartly.io

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OMG Frokostseminar 08.06.17

  • 1.
  • 5. VIRKER BARE OM FORSKJELLIGE MÅLGRUPPER TRIGGER PÅ FORSKJELLIGE BUDSKAP
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  • 20. CA 1000 NYE PRODUKTER I KVARTALET
  • 23.
  • 24. • A/B TEST • A: Statiske generelle annonser, B: Dynamiske personlige annonser • A sin målgruppe: Helt lik som B, bortsett fra at B er delt opp i 255 geografiske segmenter • B slår A : – 2x så «lav» CPM – 5X så høy klikkrate – 2X så høy konvert.rate – Totalt: 2x5x2=20 ganger så bra ROI med dynamisk annonse som med statisk
  • 26. Hvorfor er det ingen som ser meg?
  • 27. 2
  • 28. 3 Be om en like!
  • 29. 4 Enkle spørsmål. Folk orker bare ikke...
  • 30. 5 Bygg følgere. Inviter de som engasjerer seg i innholdet
  • 31. 6 Tagg relevante sider i dine oppdateringer
  • 32. 7 Lange tekster funker (om det er relevant). Facebook vekter tiden folk bruker på innholdet ditt høyt. Dersom du deler poster med ”lange”, relevante historier vil de få bra ranking i nyhetsstrømmen.
  • 33. 8 Tilpasset innhold gir bedre rekkevidde. Vertikale eller 1:1-videoer passer på mobil og gir høyere rangering i nyhetsstrømmen.
  • 34. 9 Sider som har en fullstendig utfylt profilside blir rangert høyere i nyhetsstrømmen. Bruk tid på å fylle ut alle informasjonsbolkene på siden din.
  • 35. 10
  • 36. Facebook advertising and automation at scale Learnings from Advanced Advertisers Kalle Tiihonen – Customers, Nordics
  • 38. Jan is a smart guy. Is manual optimization really the best way to spend his time?
  • 39. By using his time on manual optimization, Jan misses a lot of strategic work he could be doing. Maybe he could let the computers to the manual stuff?
  • 40. You need to let the computers do their job so you can concentrate on what’s important
  • 41. You don’t necessarily have to invest a lot of time to set up an extensive automation framework. Leveraging Facebook’s own optimization will get you already quite far.
  • 42. Facebook’s Revenue per User investor.fb.com Facebook is not showing more ads per person but instead optimizing their ad delivery to get better results for advertisers. It would be dumb not to utilize the work Facebook has put into this.
  • 43.
  • 44. Facebook also has a lot of information of their users Jan doesn’t have. Facebook uses this to guide their ad delivery.
  • 45. How can I fully utilize Facebook’s optimization?
  • 46. 1. Use large audiences 2. Bid boldly 3. Automate
  • 47. 1. Use large audiences
  • 48. Think first before going granular Facebook works best with big audiences and big budgets
  • 49. There are still reasons to split your ad sets sometimes 1. Audience-specific creatives E.g. show different creative for men and women 2. Different conversion values E.g. LTV of iOS installs is higher than Android installs → bid differently 3. Insights beyond Facebook’s breakdowns E.g. breakdown by interest, city or custom audience. Facebook provides some reporting breakdowns: age, gender, placement, device, … 4. Insights for 3rd party tracking 3rd party tracking can show insights only on ad / ad set level.
  • 50. Specific messaging Specific bids/budgets Learnings More effective optimization Granular Broad It’s a tradeoff. P.S. Note that insights from granular splits might not have enough data to be statistically significant!
  • 52. Bid your true value Usually it’s not that easy.
  • 53. True value = The average life-time profit that you’re getting per conversion during a one day click-through, without view-through attribution window
  • 54. “Spend €10k per day with €5 CPA” Which one is your priority? The problem of this goal: - Would you be willing to spend more than €10k if your CPA stays below €5? - If your CPA is above €5, do you still want to spend the entire €10k?
  • 55. “Spend as much as possible (10k) while CPA stays below €5” Actually, there were two alternative goals in the previous statement. These are also the two main optimization strategies. You can only do one of these at a time. “Spend €10k per day with as low CPA as possible” OR
  • 56. “Spend as much as possible while CPA stays below €5” a.k.a. CPA-constrained
  • 57. “Spend as much as possible while CPA stays below €5” Just bid €5 for conversions and Facebook will get you the conversions below that if your budget is not a constraint.
  • 58. CPA-constrained campaigns Problem: CPA not on the desired level → Use Average Bidding → Scale bid up/down based on CPA → Adjust bid conversion window Facebook recently introduced average bidding which lets you define your target as an average. However, it’s still quite conservative so sometimes you’ll have to bid higher to reach your desired CPA. If a large share of your conversions are occurring with a lag longer than one day, you should adjust your bid conversion window to reflect that.
  • 59. “Spend as much as possible while average CPA stays below €5” Note: When you look at the CPA of an ad, ad set or a campaign, it’s always an average over some time period. To have an average CPA of €5, you pay more than €5 for some of the conversions.
  • 60. CPA-constrained campaigns Problem: Initial CPA higher than bid Low delivery Less data for optimization High CPA → Start with a higher bid → Use budget-controlled campaigns and scale budget up/down based on CPA If your initial bid is not high enough, it can make your delivery plummet. You can start with a higher bid and adjust it to the appropriate level after one or two days. Another option is to use budget-controlled campaigns and scale the budget to reach your desired CPA. That will be covered next.
  • 61. “Spend €10k per day with as low CPA as possible” a.k.a. Budget-constrained
  • 62. How to spend my budget only to the cheapest conversions?
  • 63. “Spend €10k per day with as low CPA as possible” With budget-controlled campaigns, Facebook gets you conversions until you have exhausted your budget.
  • 65. • Computers are not intelligent -> they need quite exact instructions to know what to do and then do exactly what they were told to do • If your goals are vague or non-existing, you cannot expect to get any good results by automation (same applies to all online advertising though) Goal setting is key to the automation
  • 66. • It’s easy to make one busy by focusing on micro-managing ads, bids, audiences etc. And usually it’s very hard for people to change habits and automation can feel like losing control although what you’re doing is just changing approach • If you want to reach significant scale (+500k/month) with hundreds (or even tens of thousands) of active ads you cannot afford to focus on every single detail like you can when working with only small campaigns with couple of audiences • You need to see the whole picture and focus on trying to improve total performance of the whole operation and not spend time trying to squeeze CPA down in one ad by 5% • You need to focus your time on finding significant performance improvements or new audiences. You can spend unlimited amount of time tweaking minor details and changing results only little whereas e.g. Finding new audiences or new types of creatives can give you multiplying effect Forest vs trees
  • 67. • All regular actions – e.g. budget changes based on performance • Creative rotation. Ad fatigue can hit campaigns hard and it’s quite easy to get around that • Campaign creation if your bottleneck is regularly created campaigns • Audience selection • Creative production What to automate
  • 68. 1. Use large audiences 2. Bid boldly 3. Automate what you can
  • 69. You need to let the computers do their job so you can concentrate on what’s important