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Cofounder, Galavant Magazine
Brand & Community Lead,
DynaOptics
Previously:
Intern, Sozo Studio
Intern, Rocky Design
Previously:
Intern, YouSpace
Intern, 58.com Inc
Previously:
Intern, OgilvyOne
Nat
(CEO)
Leo
(CFO)
Claire
(CMO)
An
(CTO)
TEAM HATCH
What do you do when
you’re learning something
and you get stuck?
“There’s no tutorials at all or if there is,
it’s confusing.” —Jamie
“I can’t find the info that I need because
I don’t know the terminology.” —Jieying
“I don’t know how to narrow down on a
broad subject to start learning.” —Heather
Problem-solving
alone isn’t the most
effective way!
“Having someone show
me how to do it is
much more efficient.”
—Elijah, Student (Interviewee)
Problem
For students,
it’s hard to ask for help when:
• Limited connections; it’s
outside your circle of friends
• One-sided; resulting in
hesitation to ask for help
Problem
For students,
it’s hard to ask for help when:
• Limited connections; it’s
outside your circle of friends
• One-sided; resulting in
hesitation to ask for help
Solution
Peer-to-peer skills sharing app
that encourages the learning
journey by helping students:
• Expand connections
• Mutually help one another
Mission
To cultivate an open,
collaborative community
where everyone can
learn, share and grow
with one another.
This is an existing behavior.
209 Facebook Learning Groups
9.3 million members
391k Subscribers in r/IWantToLearn
This is an existing behavior.
Total Addressable Market
(People using educational platforms)
81 M
Who are we serving?
5%* based on our market funnel
https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/
Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions
https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/
Total Addressable Market
(People using educational platforms)
81 M
Who are we serving?
5%* based on our market funnel
https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/
Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions
https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/
Serviceable Addressable Market
(College students in U.S. using
additional academic services)
12.7 M
Total Addressable Market
(People using educational platforms)
81 M
Who are we serving?
5%* based on our market funnel
https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/
Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions
https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/
Serviceable Addressable Market
(College students in U.S. using
additional academic services)
12.7 M
Serviceable Obtainable Market
(5% of Serviceable Addressable Market)
636,800
Physical Connection
Digital Connection
One-Sided Learning
(Tutoring, MOOC, etc)
Mutual Learning
(Learning exchanges)
Who else are in this space?
Simbi
Tandem
Tutorfly
edX
Coursera
Studyblue
Your Boss
Physical Connection
Digital Connection
One-Sided Learning
(Tutoring, MOOC, etc)
Mutual Learning
(Learning exchanges)
Who else are in this space?
Simbi
Tandem
Tutorfly
edX
Coursera
Studyblue
Your Boss
Mutual
learning &
sharing
Personalized
learning
experiences
School
based
Convenience, trust
Encouraging & strengthening
bonds community
Flexibility
So, how are we different?
Mutual
learning
& sharing
Personalized
learning
experiences
Encouraging & strengthening
bonds community
Flexibility
School
based
Convenience, trust
So, how are we different?
Personalized
learning
experiences
Encouraging & strengthening
bonds community Flexibility
School
based
Convenience, trust
Mutual
learning &
sharing
So, how are we different?
Revenue
Total
$ 603,748
Total
$ 1,359,134
Costs Profit
$ 1,962,882
Total
— =
At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800)
Annually Annually Annually
Revenue Model (Annual)
Free Premium
1 suggested connection per day
3 connections per month
$ 0
50 connections/mth
Initiate the connection
Browse profiles
$ 1,891,296
Advertising
Cost-per-click: $0.44
Cost-per-mille: $2.80/1000
$ 71,586
25%: Based on our marketing funnel
*0.22% average CTR in education industry: https://www.wordstream.com/adwords-click-through-rate
https://blog.adstage.io/google-display-ads-cpm-cpc-ctr-benchmarks-in-q1-2018
https://www.wordstream.com/adwords-click-through-rate
At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800)
$0.99/month
$0.99/m x 12 x 636,800 people x 25%*
$2.8 x 636,800 people/1000 x 3 connections x 12m = $64,189
$0.44 x 636,800* people x 0.22%* x 12 = $7,397
$1,962,882
Costs (Annual)
Salaries Office Supplies
& Logistics
7 employees
$ 467,000
$ 5,400
Marketing
$ 124,748
At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800)
Fees
Legal & Accounting
$ 6,600
$603,748
4 Founders: $60,000*4
Lead Dev: $110,000
Data Scientist: $75,000
Customer Support: $42,000
Legal: $4200
Accounting: $2400
20% of total cost*
Based on Glassdoor Salaries
*https://nuphoriq.com/create-a-marketing-budget/
Revenue
Total
$ 603,748
Total
$ 1,359,134
Costs Profit
$ 1,962,882
Total
— =
At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800)
Annually Annually Annually
For the past 5 weeks,
Concept Validation
30 Interviews
For the past 5 weeks,
Concept MVP
6 sign-ups
Concept Validation
30 Interviews
For the past 5 weeks,
Concept Validation
30 Interviews
Online marketing activities &
On-site recruitments
74 sign-ups
12 experiences
Concept MVP
6 sign-ups
Early version of the
Hatch experienceFor the past 5 weeks,
In 3 weeks,
Online marketing activities &
On-site recruitments
74 sign-ups
12 experiences
117 scans
81 sign-ups
12 experiences
78%
Why Now?
77.2M = total students in US
https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2010/2010023.pdf
https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2017/school-enrollment.html
of U.S. students are
using academic services
77.2M x 78% =
60.2M
According to National Center for Education Statistics,
According to National Center for Education Statistics,
78%
Why Now?
77.2M = total students in US
https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2010/2010023.pdf
https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2017/school-enrollment.html
of U.S. students are
using academic services
77.2M x 78% =
60.2M
27%
of U.S. students
are willing to pay
60.2M x 27% =
16.2M
Next 10 months
Concept MVP
81 sign-ups
12 experiences
Past 5 weeks
Next 10 months
Concept MVP
81 sign-ups
12 experiences
Past 5 weeks Now
Digital Prototype
Usability testings
in progress
Next 10 months
Concept MVP
81 sign-ups
12 experiences
Past 5 weeks Now
Digital Prototype
Usability testings in
progress
in 4 months
Digital MVP
Next 10 months
Concept MVP
81 sign-ups
12 experiences
Past 5 weeks Now
Digital Prototype
Usability testings in
progress
in 4 months
Digital MVP
in 10 months
17,000 users
$520,000
Build MVP
Hires (Lead developer, Data Analyst, Customer Support)
Scale adoption
For the next 10 months.
“Love this project, everyone
share their knowledge with
each other and we will live
in a better world.”
—Anonymous Commenter
on our poster
Thank you!
https://weareteamhatch.wixsite.com/mysite
@weareteamhatch
“love this project,
everyone share their
knowledge with each
other and we will live in a
better world”
Appendix
1. Molecule
2. Marketing Funnel
3. Growth Rate
4. Financials
5. Business Model Canvas
6. Competitors vs. Hatch
7. Growth Strategy
8. User Flow
9. Algorithm
10.Past Pivots
11. Acquisition Experiments
12. Partnerships
13. Expert Interviews
Appendix
College Students who
are seeking for
academic help
Hard to ask for help
• Limited
connection
• One-sided
P2P Skill-sharing
site/app
SOM = 636,800?
5%
81 Sign-up( in 3 weeks)
1500 total students
=
Competitors:
User growth in early stage
• Tandem: 5M userbase -the second year;
• Coursera: 4M userbase -the first year;
Market size:
• Tandem: 5M
• Cousera: 35M
https://www.class-central.com/report/https://www.class-central.com/report/coursera-2016-review//
https://realbusiness.co.uk/apple-helped-tandem-language-app-gain-thousands-users/

https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/tandem-4#section-funding-rounds
1st Year
2nd Year
Breakeven Point
10 ~ 11 months
195,868 people
BMC
Cost Structure
Revenue Model (Annual at Serviceable Obtainable Market)
$0.99/m x 12 x 636,800
people x 25%* =
$2.8 x 636,800 people/1000 x 3
connections x 12m = $64,189
$0.44 x 636,800* people x 0.22%* x
12 = $7,397
$ 1,891,296
$ 71,586
Competitors
Tutoring VS. Hatch
Fee Mutual/Equal Common Experiences Flexible
Tutor
Hatch $0.99/month
$75-$100/h
Yes
No
Yes
No
Yes
Depends
“You’ve changed the conventions of what it means to ask for help. Instead of lacking
something, you’ve made it more about benefitting other people.”
—Brooke Hessler, Director of Learning Resources @ CCA
User flow
Onboarding
Creating your profile
Suggested
Chat & Feedback
Connection Made
User Retention
How do we connect students?
MVP:
Learning goals
Learning styles
Personality
Scheduling
Skills level
Comfort levels
Group Learning
Learn Share
In Consideration:
Complementary interest
Past experiences
Assumption 1:
We only need to pair people
up by their complementary
interests.

Result 2:
Students want the flexibility
to do both.
Feature 3:
Chat. Time and date
recognition to add to Google
calendar.
Assumption 4:
Peers will have a more
comfortable first-time
experience if provided with
conversation guides or
prompts.

Result 1:
FALSE. Knowing specific
info about each others’
learning goals will create a
better learning experience
for both.

Feature 1:
Specific goals on profile
creation stage. (+prompts
on how to write it).

Result 3:
Flexibility contributes to a
more natural experience;
easier to break the ice. 

Assumption 2:
People will have a more
fulfilling learning experience
if they can select and browse
their own learning peers.
Feature 2:
Browse or see suggestion.

Assumption 3:
By giving them more flexibility
(in terms of time, location
etc), the learning experience
will be more comfortable.
Feature 4:
Conversation starter by hatch.

Result 4:
TRUE. Hatch starts the
conversation and help to
orientate the conversation.
Specific information is
needed for learning
exchange to be efficient.
“I want to teach other tons but don’t
know how to start.”
—Brandon
“Not prepared before meeting so I
can’t be of help.”
—Tara
HMW…
Help prepare both parties prior to the
exchange so their expectations are met?
Matches might have
different expectations—
learning, sharing & goal.
“Understanding dynamics is
important.”
—Brandon
“Want match’s problem to be
similar to mine.”
—Jackie
HMW…
Help prepare both parties prior to the
exchange so their expectations are met?
Initial interactions can be
awkward; comfort level is
important.
“I’m not sure how open the conversation
can/should be.”
—Yao
“I like people who can converse and
communicate naturally.”
—Brandon
HMW…
Facilitate the interactions so both parties
can be comfortable with one another?
Learning about other
people’s way of working
is inspiring.
“Good to meet people from
different background.”
—Jen
HMW…
Match people of diverse backgrounds
so they can inspire one another?
Partnerships
Schools
Complement schools’
tutoring services
Massive Open
Online Courses
Connecting people
to others who have
learned it before
Brooke Hessler,
Director of Learning
Resources
(CCA)
“You’ve changed the
conventions of what it
means to ask for help.
Instead of lacking
something, you’ve
made it more about
benefitting other
people.”
Expert Interview
Brooke Hessler,
Director of Learning
Resources
(CCA)
“Oftentimes, the person
who can help you is one
who have been in your
shoes. They have a holistic
perspective of what you’re
going through and are
able to relate to your
experience.”
Expert Interview
Brooke Hessler,
Director of Learning
Resources
(CCA)
“Tutoring services in schools
are very expensive…you’re
basically paying for someone
to sit and wait there for a
whole day…Hatch could
complement these services
to lower those costs.”
Expert Interview
Hatch's Final Pitch
Hatch's Final Pitch

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Hatch's Final Pitch

  • 1.
  • 2. Previously: Cofounder, Galavant Magazine Brand & Community Lead, DynaOptics Previously: Intern, Sozo Studio Intern, Rocky Design Previously: Intern, YouSpace Intern, 58.com Inc Previously: Intern, OgilvyOne Nat (CEO) Leo (CFO) Claire (CMO) An (CTO) TEAM HATCH
  • 3. What do you do when you’re learning something and you get stuck?
  • 4. “There’s no tutorials at all or if there is, it’s confusing.” —Jamie “I can’t find the info that I need because I don’t know the terminology.” —Jieying “I don’t know how to narrow down on a broad subject to start learning.” —Heather Problem-solving alone isn’t the most effective way!
  • 5. “Having someone show me how to do it is much more efficient.” —Elijah, Student (Interviewee)
  • 6. Problem For students, it’s hard to ask for help when: • Limited connections; it’s outside your circle of friends • One-sided; resulting in hesitation to ask for help
  • 7. Problem For students, it’s hard to ask for help when: • Limited connections; it’s outside your circle of friends • One-sided; resulting in hesitation to ask for help Solution Peer-to-peer skills sharing app that encourages the learning journey by helping students: • Expand connections • Mutually help one another
  • 8.
  • 9. Mission To cultivate an open, collaborative community where everyone can learn, share and grow with one another.
  • 10. This is an existing behavior.
  • 11. 209 Facebook Learning Groups 9.3 million members 391k Subscribers in r/IWantToLearn This is an existing behavior.
  • 12. Total Addressable Market (People using educational platforms) 81 M Who are we serving? 5%* based on our market funnel https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/ Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/
  • 13. Total Addressable Market (People using educational platforms) 81 M Who are we serving? 5%* based on our market funnel https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/ Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/ Serviceable Addressable Market (College students in U.S. using additional academic services) 12.7 M
  • 14. Total Addressable Market (People using educational platforms) 81 M Who are we serving? 5%* based on our market funnel https://blog.cengage.com/college-students-tutors-and-study-help/ Statista, https://wwwstatista.com/statistics/183995/us-college-enrollment-and-projections-in-public-and-private-institutions https://www.class-central.com/report/moocs-stats-and-trends-2017/ Serviceable Addressable Market (College students in U.S. using additional academic services) 12.7 M Serviceable Obtainable Market (5% of Serviceable Addressable Market) 636,800
  • 15. Physical Connection Digital Connection One-Sided Learning (Tutoring, MOOC, etc) Mutual Learning (Learning exchanges) Who else are in this space? Simbi Tandem Tutorfly edX Coursera Studyblue Your Boss
  • 16. Physical Connection Digital Connection One-Sided Learning (Tutoring, MOOC, etc) Mutual Learning (Learning exchanges) Who else are in this space? Simbi Tandem Tutorfly edX Coursera Studyblue Your Boss
  • 17. Mutual learning & sharing Personalized learning experiences School based Convenience, trust Encouraging & strengthening bonds community Flexibility So, how are we different?
  • 18. Mutual learning & sharing Personalized learning experiences Encouraging & strengthening bonds community Flexibility School based Convenience, trust So, how are we different?
  • 19. Personalized learning experiences Encouraging & strengthening bonds community Flexibility School based Convenience, trust Mutual learning & sharing So, how are we different?
  • 20. Revenue Total $ 603,748 Total $ 1,359,134 Costs Profit $ 1,962,882 Total — = At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800) Annually Annually Annually
  • 21. Revenue Model (Annual) Free Premium 1 suggested connection per day 3 connections per month $ 0 50 connections/mth Initiate the connection Browse profiles $ 1,891,296 Advertising Cost-per-click: $0.44 Cost-per-mille: $2.80/1000 $ 71,586 25%: Based on our marketing funnel *0.22% average CTR in education industry: https://www.wordstream.com/adwords-click-through-rate https://blog.adstage.io/google-display-ads-cpm-cpc-ctr-benchmarks-in-q1-2018 https://www.wordstream.com/adwords-click-through-rate At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800) $0.99/month $0.99/m x 12 x 636,800 people x 25%* $2.8 x 636,800 people/1000 x 3 connections x 12m = $64,189 $0.44 x 636,800* people x 0.22%* x 12 = $7,397 $1,962,882
  • 22. Costs (Annual) Salaries Office Supplies & Logistics 7 employees $ 467,000 $ 5,400 Marketing $ 124,748 At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800) Fees Legal & Accounting $ 6,600 $603,748 4 Founders: $60,000*4 Lead Dev: $110,000 Data Scientist: $75,000 Customer Support: $42,000 Legal: $4200 Accounting: $2400 20% of total cost* Based on Glassdoor Salaries *https://nuphoriq.com/create-a-marketing-budget/
  • 23. Revenue Total $ 603,748 Total $ 1,359,134 Costs Profit $ 1,962,882 Total — = At Serviceable Obtainable Market (636,800) Annually Annually Annually
  • 24. For the past 5 weeks,
  • 26. Concept MVP 6 sign-ups Concept Validation 30 Interviews For the past 5 weeks,
  • 27. Concept Validation 30 Interviews Online marketing activities & On-site recruitments 74 sign-ups 12 experiences Concept MVP 6 sign-ups Early version of the Hatch experienceFor the past 5 weeks,
  • 28. In 3 weeks, Online marketing activities & On-site recruitments 74 sign-ups 12 experiences 117 scans 81 sign-ups 12 experiences
  • 29. 78% Why Now? 77.2M = total students in US https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2010/2010023.pdf https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2017/school-enrollment.html of U.S. students are using academic services 77.2M x 78% = 60.2M According to National Center for Education Statistics,
  • 30. According to National Center for Education Statistics, 78% Why Now? 77.2M = total students in US https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2010/2010023.pdf https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2017/school-enrollment.html of U.S. students are using academic services 77.2M x 78% = 60.2M 27% of U.S. students are willing to pay 60.2M x 27% = 16.2M
  • 31. Next 10 months Concept MVP 81 sign-ups 12 experiences Past 5 weeks
  • 32. Next 10 months Concept MVP 81 sign-ups 12 experiences Past 5 weeks Now Digital Prototype Usability testings in progress
  • 33. Next 10 months Concept MVP 81 sign-ups 12 experiences Past 5 weeks Now Digital Prototype Usability testings in progress in 4 months Digital MVP
  • 34. Next 10 months Concept MVP 81 sign-ups 12 experiences Past 5 weeks Now Digital Prototype Usability testings in progress in 4 months Digital MVP in 10 months 17,000 users
  • 35. $520,000 Build MVP Hires (Lead developer, Data Analyst, Customer Support) Scale adoption For the next 10 months.
  • 36. “Love this project, everyone share their knowledge with each other and we will live in a better world.” —Anonymous Commenter on our poster
  • 37. Thank you! https://weareteamhatch.wixsite.com/mysite @weareteamhatch “love this project, everyone share their knowledge with each other and we will live in a better world”
  • 39. 1. Molecule 2. Marketing Funnel 3. Growth Rate 4. Financials 5. Business Model Canvas 6. Competitors vs. Hatch 7. Growth Strategy 8. User Flow 9. Algorithm 10.Past Pivots 11. Acquisition Experiments 12. Partnerships 13. Expert Interviews Appendix
  • 40. College Students who are seeking for academic help Hard to ask for help • Limited connection • One-sided P2P Skill-sharing site/app
  • 41. SOM = 636,800? 5% 81 Sign-up( in 3 weeks) 1500 total students = Competitors: User growth in early stage • Tandem: 5M userbase -the second year; • Coursera: 4M userbase -the first year; Market size: • Tandem: 5M • Cousera: 35M https://www.class-central.com/report/https://www.class-central.com/report/coursera-2016-review// https://realbusiness.co.uk/apple-helped-tandem-language-app-gain-thousands-users/ https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/tandem-4#section-funding-rounds
  • 42.
  • 45. Breakeven Point 10 ~ 11 months 195,868 people
  • 46. BMC
  • 48. Revenue Model (Annual at Serviceable Obtainable Market) $0.99/m x 12 x 636,800 people x 25%* = $2.8 x 636,800 people/1000 x 3 connections x 12m = $64,189 $0.44 x 636,800* people x 0.22%* x 12 = $7,397 $ 1,891,296 $ 71,586
  • 50. Tutoring VS. Hatch Fee Mutual/Equal Common Experiences Flexible Tutor Hatch $0.99/month $75-$100/h Yes No Yes No Yes Depends “You’ve changed the conventions of what it means to ask for help. Instead of lacking something, you’ve made it more about benefitting other people.” —Brooke Hessler, Director of Learning Resources @ CCA
  • 51.
  • 59. How do we connect students? MVP: Learning goals Learning styles Personality Scheduling Skills level Comfort levels Group Learning Learn Share In Consideration: Complementary interest
  • 60.
  • 61. Past experiences Assumption 1: We only need to pair people up by their complementary interests. Result 2: Students want the flexibility to do both. Feature 3: Chat. Time and date recognition to add to Google calendar. Assumption 4: Peers will have a more comfortable first-time experience if provided with conversation guides or prompts. Result 1: FALSE. Knowing specific info about each others’ learning goals will create a better learning experience for both. Feature 1: Specific goals on profile creation stage. (+prompts on how to write it). Result 3: Flexibility contributes to a more natural experience; easier to break the ice. Assumption 2: People will have a more fulfilling learning experience if they can select and browse their own learning peers. Feature 2: Browse or see suggestion. Assumption 3: By giving them more flexibility (in terms of time, location etc), the learning experience will be more comfortable. Feature 4: Conversation starter by hatch. Result 4: TRUE. Hatch starts the conversation and help to orientate the conversation.
  • 62. Specific information is needed for learning exchange to be efficient. “I want to teach other tons but don’t know how to start.” —Brandon “Not prepared before meeting so I can’t be of help.” —Tara HMW… Help prepare both parties prior to the exchange so their expectations are met?
  • 63. Matches might have different expectations— learning, sharing & goal. “Understanding dynamics is important.” —Brandon “Want match’s problem to be similar to mine.” —Jackie HMW… Help prepare both parties prior to the exchange so their expectations are met?
  • 64. Initial interactions can be awkward; comfort level is important. “I’m not sure how open the conversation can/should be.” —Yao “I like people who can converse and communicate naturally.” —Brandon HMW… Facilitate the interactions so both parties can be comfortable with one another?
  • 65. Learning about other people’s way of working is inspiring. “Good to meet people from different background.” —Jen HMW… Match people of diverse backgrounds so they can inspire one another?
  • 66. Partnerships Schools Complement schools’ tutoring services Massive Open Online Courses Connecting people to others who have learned it before
  • 67. Brooke Hessler, Director of Learning Resources (CCA) “You’ve changed the conventions of what it means to ask for help. Instead of lacking something, you’ve made it more about benefitting other people.” Expert Interview
  • 68. Brooke Hessler, Director of Learning Resources (CCA) “Oftentimes, the person who can help you is one who have been in your shoes. They have a holistic perspective of what you’re going through and are able to relate to your experience.” Expert Interview
  • 69. Brooke Hessler, Director of Learning Resources (CCA) “Tutoring services in schools are very expensive…you’re basically paying for someone to sit and wait there for a whole day…Hatch could complement these services to lower those costs.” Expert Interview