Want to know what is Addressable TV advertising? And how will it change the TV advertising?
Check this Icareus' Addressable TV Advertising presentation.
Version: 20180814
2. “IN THE LONG TERM, TV NETWORKS
DESIRE A MEASUREMENT SYSTEM THAT
WILL HELP THEM TO MONETIZE
NONLINEAR TV AD INVENTORY, AS
WELL AS PROVIDE A HOLISTIC
UNDERSTANDING OF VIEWER
BEHAVIOR.”
2017
ICAREUS PLATFORM
FULLFILS THIS
REQUIREMENT!
5. ICAREUS UNIQUE BENEFITS
1. Experience
• Hybrid TV industry veteran since 2001
2. Unique capability of real-time manipulation and
optimization of the ad –delivery to SmartTVs
• It guarantees a superior and seamless end-user ad
experience without interruptions on all SmartTV platforms.
3. Quality of targeting accuracy
• Advertising is better due to the unique data Icareus can
collect from viewers via different data sources, not just TV.
4. Only vendor with broadcast head-end software
required to trigger addressableTV advertising
• Icareus Playout has been in production with world leading
broadcasters and operators since 2004
5. GDPR compliant platform
5
7. Addressable TV can be the tool fight the digital ad dominance in Europe
Digital Ad spend
TV Ad spend
Addressable TV
8. Other TVs &
Set-top boxes
ALL CURRENT SMART TVS SUPPORT ADDRESSABLE TV
One European platform Economies of scale
One technical platform Economical development
One growing platform Growing market
10. Smart TVs which support HbbTV 2017
Soure: GfK 2016
99%57%
Smart TV penetration 2017
Source: Parks Associates
SmartTVs are powering the adoption in Europe
Smart TV ad spending is
expected to grow in each
Europe’s five largest economies
by 2020
Source: MTM London
2x
11. HYBRID TV HAS HIGH CONSUMER APPROVAL
+32%
RED BUTTON
AWARENESS
INCREASE 2016-
2017
INTERACTIVITY INCREASED ADS
IMPACT AND VIEWERS CONSIDERED
ADDRESSABLE TV AS ENHANCED
SERVICE
Source: View Time Report, Germany
78%
GOOD SERVICE OF
BROADCASTERS
78%
GOOD EXTENSION TO
TV-PROGRAM
25%
CLICK-THROUGH-RATE
ON VOTINGS
Source: Online Survey SevenOneMedia
Source: Online Survey SevenOneMedia
Source: Digita
Source: Viewer interviews
12. WE CAN COLLECT VITAL AUDIENCE
DATA AND BUILD YOUR SEGMENTS
TO INCREASE THE VALUE OF YOUR
ADDRESSABLE TV ADVERTISING
13. Measurement of linear broadcast spots
Ad Spots
Unique
Devices
720.984 716.376 714.325 702.496 693.230 649.831
We can tell you the number of views
each of your linear ad spot gets - in real time
14. • Total number of viewers
• Average viewing time
• Most popular shows
• Ad Impressions
• Click-Through-Rate
• Microsite usage
• Viewability of videos
• Tracking piksels
• Google Analytics
We can measure many things for you
For the first time it is possible to
measure metrics in TV advertising
that were only possible in digital advertising
- and more
15. NEW TOOLS AND BENEFITS FOR ADVERTISERS
Geo-Targeting
Frequency CappingTV Reach
TV Impact
TV Target Groups
Clickable Ads and
Spots
+75%
AD RECALLINCREASE
WITH SWITCHIN +
MICROSITE +
TV SPOT*
+59%
BRAND AWARNESS
INCREASE WITH
SWITCHIN +
MICROSITE +
TV SPOT*
Source: SevenOneMedia Survey
*Compared to normal TV spot campaign
18. Step 2 – Linear Spots
• Monitor linear advertising
• Learn how many unique device see
each linear TV spot
Step 1 – Audience
• Total unique devices
• Active devices
• Most viewed programs
• Growth rate
STEPS TO CALCULATE YOUR INVENTORY
LET US PROVIDE THE TOOLS
19. PROGRAMMATIC BUYING
Approximately 20% of all
digital is sold by one machine
talking to another machine –
and growing rapidly
Joe Marchese
President, Advertising Revenue
Fox Networks Group
Broadcasters need to get out
of the impressions business
and back into the attention
business
https://goo.gl/4xEjAe
• All SwitchIn Formats support programmatic
• VideoSwap for maximum fill-rate support
programmatic
• Real-time reporting for control
• Support for integrations to existing systems
VAST
20. INVENTORY GROWTH EXAMPLES
500.000€
Impressions
1M Devices, CPM 17€
1 AD / Day / Device = 1M imps /
Day
17.00€ * 1M Imps * 30days =
500.000€ / Month
+20% 1.200.000€ +20% 100%
Spots
1M Devices
24 Spot runs / Day / = 24M imps /
Day
Fixed price per TV spot campaing
+20%
Impressions
1M Devices, CPM 1,70€
24 Spot runs / Day / = 24M imps /
Day
1,70€*24M Imps = 1.224.000€ /
month
Targeting
Regionalisation on National TV
flights
1M Devices, +20% on top of
standard campaign price
For maximum fill-rate
Usage of programmable
technolgoies to fill unsold broadcast
commercial slots
1M Devices, 100% fill-rate
21. ACTIVATIONS INVENTORY
ADDITIONAL ADDED VALUE TO ADVERTISERS
5.000€ / Campaign
50 campaigns / month
MICROSITE
AddressableTV
COUPON
AddressableTV
VIDEO
AddressableTV
1PAGER
AddressableTV
3.000€ / Campaign
50 Campaigns / mont
250.000€150.000€ 150.000€
3.000€ / Campaign
50 Campaigns / month
150.000€
3.000€ / Campaign
50 Campaigns / mont
22. ADDRESSABLE TV BENEFITS
ADVERTISER
All the TV goodies
Brand Lift, Reach, Impact
and Brand-Engagement
Audience measurement
Real-time consumer viewing
measurement and rich consumer
data to TV inventory
BROADCASTER
Increased advertising value
Call to Action capabilities, better
understanding of audiences
new measurement tools for viewing
and engagement
A/B testing
BIGGER inventory
Completely new ad formats
Programmable solution to sell
unsold linear spot inventory and
ossibility to
offer affordable personalised niche
segments for new advertisers
Enhanced targeting
More specified target segments and
more targeting options (geo
,weather,…)
1
2
3
4
5
23. 3-2-1 ON-AIR
EASY STEPS TO GET STARTED
1. Icareus provides .TS file to be ingested to multiplex
2. Icareus set-ups account in cloud
3. Start audience monitoring
• how many unique TVs you have, how many
viewers you have per channel/day/hour/minute,
how long viewers stay on your channel on
average, what is your market share calculate
your addressable TV inventory
4. Start monitoring linear advertising
• Trigger from playout to know what’s on + setup
Icareus Playout exact number on how many
viewers see your linear ads (per ad)
5. Launch Addressable TV
• SwitcIn
• ActiveAd
• VideoSwap
6. Integrate to SSP/DSP
24. ADDRESSABLE TV FORMATS
24
Ad is shown when user switches to a channel
Display ad is synchronized with Linear advertising
Display ad is scheduled to be shown during a TV show
Linear advertising is substituted with online video ads
Pre-defined Display ads within HbbTV Apps
25. On-screen display ads are shown
when user switches to a channel
click yellow button
Activations supported
• 1Pager
• Microsite
• Video
• Coupon
Creatives
• L-Banner
• Standard
Programmable Advertising
• Supported
GUARANTEED EYE-BALLS
STANDARD
L-BANNER
Display Ads are shown
when viewer comes to
channel
Diffrent Call-to-Actions
and Activations can be
used
26. Time based on-screen display ads
click yellow button
Display Ads are based on a
schedule, thus different ads can be
shown at different times of a day
26
SCHEDULED DISPLAY ADS
Activations supported
• 1Pager
• Microsite
• Video
• Coupon
Creatives
• L-Banner
• Standard
Programmable Advertising
• No
STANDARD
Display Ads are shown
based on schedule,
trigger or EPG event
27. TRIGGERED FROM VIDEO PLAYOUT
On-screen display ads are shown with
a defined ad within commercial breaks
Display ads are triggered based on
video playout and campaign settings
27
L-BANNER
Only L-banner is
support to get the
maximum effect
Diffrent Call-to-Actions
and Activations can be
used
Activations supported
• 1Pager
• Microsite
• Video
• Coupon
Creatives
• L-Banner
• Standard
Programmable Advertising
• No
28. PERSONALISED ADVERTISING VIA BROADBAND
VideoSwitch enable broadcasters to
maximise the revenue potential by
substituting linear spots with broadband
delivered videos based on the viewer profile
and/or their regional location.
Formats
• Targeting (Geo or Segments)
• Maximum Fill-rate (use Programmable to fill
un-sold flights)
Detailed statistics
• Provides exact data on what is being
watched and for how long
• if the viewers switched channel during a
break
28
LINEAR ADS
SYNCHRONIZED TRIGGER
TO START PERSONALISED ADS
MOBILE COUPON
REDEEMED AT KIOSK
PERSONALISED HBBTV ADS
LINEAR ADS OR “JINGLE” FOR UNSOLD REGIONALISED BREAKS
29. MAIN PORTAL TO ACCESS HBBTV SERVICES
Different Display Ads can
be embedded to
applications like portals,
EPG, VOD, catch-up TV
apps etc.
29
Display Ad
Advertising
31. ACTIVATIONS
1Pager
Social Media call-
to-actions via
simple images
Long form Video
Brand videos and
long-form TV
commercials
Coupons
Call-to-actions
and coupons
Microsites
Miniportals
(Templates)
User clicks YELLOW –button,
dedicated to advertising
CALL-TO-ACTIONS WITH KEY PRESS
32. FREQUENCY CAPPING
Icareus enable you to control
your impressions and keep
your audience satisfied
Features
• Max per campaign
• Max per day
• Max per day/viewer
• …
32
33. ADDRESSABLE TV OFFERS
VARIOUS TOOLS FOR
BETTER RESULTS
1. Re-targeting
Show SwitchIn ads only to viewers who saw your TV spot
2. Geotargeting
Use IP addresses to geo-target your ads
3. Audience targeting
Build segments from your audience and target better
4. A/B testing
• Automatically select the best performing creative
35. PARTIES
ADVERTISER – LARGEST KIOSK CHAIN IN SCANDINAVIA
BROADCASTER – SANOMA IS MAJOR MEDIA COMPANY OPERATING NEWS
PAPERS, MAGAZINES, RADIO AND TV INCLUDING E.G. FOUR CHANNELS IN
FINLAND
OPERATOR – DIGITA IS TERRESTRIAL (DVB-T) NETWORK OPERATOR IN
FINLAND PROVIDING ICAREUS ADDRESSABLE TV PLATFORM FOR
CHANNELS
PLATFORM – ICAREUS IS LEADING HBBTV, ADDRESSABLE TV AND OVTP
PLATFORM SERVICE PROVIDERS IN THE WORLD
36. THE CHALLENGE:
HOW TO DRIVE VIEWERS TO KIOSKS?
THE IDEA:
PROVIDE COUPONS THAT ENTITLE TO A
FREE BOTTLE OF WATER
THE SOLUTION:
SYNCHRONISED HBBTV DISPLAY
ADVERTISING (IE. ACTIVE AD)
37. COMMERCIAL BREAK
SYNCHRONIZED TRIGGER
TO SHOW HBBTV DISPLAY AD
(L-SHAPE)
MOBILE COUPON
REDEEMED AT KIOSK
COMMERCIAL STARTS
END-USER PUSHES
YELLOW BUTTON
SYNCHRONIZED TRIGGER
TO SHOW HBBTV DISPLAY AD
(L-SHAPE)
END-USER PUSHES
YELLOW BUTTON
TIMELINE
38. CAMPAIGN DATA &
ANALYTICS
PLAYLIST INTEGRATION
AD TRIGGERING
BROADCAST
CALL TO ACTIONS MOBILE COUPON
HBBTV APPLICATION
+
ICAREUS
ADVERTISING LIBRARY
REDEEM
ANALYTICS
REAL TIME CAMPAIGN DATA
PLAYLIST TRIGGERS
BROADCASTER
PLAYOUT
ARCHITECTURE
39. THE OUTCOME
1. 200 000 VIEWERS
2. UPTO 4% INTERACTION (AVERAGE 1%)
3. DETAILED ANALYTICS ON
• DISPLAY AD -IMPRESSIONS
• INTERACTIONS
• DELIVERED COUPONS
• REDEEMS
40. NETWORK OPERATOR COMMENT:
40
“AN EXCELLENT OPPORTUNITY FOR AN
OPERATOR TO INCREASE THE REACH AND THE
BUSINESS POTENTIAL OF THEIR NETWORK”
“INTERACTIVITY INCREASED ADS IMPACT
AND VIEWERS CONSIDERED
INTERACTIVITY AS ENHANCED SERVICE”
BROADCASTER COMMENT:
“USING INTERACTIVITY ADDS VALUE TO
OUR CUSTOMERS AND BRINGS THEM
CLOSER TO US”
ADVERTISER FEEDBACK:
42. PARTIES
CUSTOMER: COMMERCIAL BROADCASTER
OPERATOR – DIGITA IS TERRESTRIAL (DVB-T) NETWORK OPERATOR IN
FINLAND PROVIDING ICAREUS ADDRESSABLE TV PLATFORM FOR
CHANNELS
PLATFORM – ICAREUS IS LEADING HBBTV, ADDRESSABLE TV AND OVTP
PLATFORM SERVICE PROVIDERS IN THE WORLD
43. THE CHALLENGE:
MAXIMISING THE REVENUE FROM
COMMERCIAL BREAKS
THE IDEA:
REPLACE BROADCAST “JINGLES”
WITH ONLINE VIDEO ADS IN REAL-
TIME
THE SOLUTION:
SYNCHRONISED HBBTV VIDEO
REPLACEMENT ADS (IE. VIDEOSWAP)
44. COMMON PART LINEAR ADS
SYNCHRONIZED TRIGGER
TO START VIDEOSWAP ADS
VIDEOSWAP PART
Broadcast
MAINSTREAM LINEAR
ADS OR “JINGLE” TO
PROMOTE
BROADCASTERS OWN
CONTENT
VIDEOSWAP ONLINE
VIDEO ADS TO
PROVIDE LOCAL ADS
ON-DEMAND
BROADCASTERS
OWN “JINGLES”
REPLACED WITH
ON-DEMAND ADS
TIMELINE
BROADCAST
45. TECHNICAL ARCHITECTURE
CAMPAIGN DATA,
AD SERVER CONF
&
ANALYTICS
PLAYLIST INTEGRATION
AD TRIGGERING
BROADCAST
HBBTV APPLICATION
+
ICAREUS
ADVERTISING LIBRARY
ANALYTICS
PLAYLIST TRIGGERS
BROADCASTER
PLAYOUT
VIDEO AD SERVER
VAST
REAL TIME CAMPAIGN DATA
46. OUTCOME
COMBINE ONLINE VIDEO ADS WITH
LINEAR ADVERTISING TO MAXIMIZE
THE COMMERCIAL BREAK REVENUES
1. REACH DIFFERENT TARGET GROUPS SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHIN
ONE COMMERCIAL BREAK
2. REGIONALIZE PARTS OF COMMERCIAL BREAKS
3. AUTOMATE SALES PROCESS WITH CPM –BUSINESS MODEL,
ON-DEMAND AD SALES
48. END-TO-END TECHNICAL PLATFORM
A COMPLETE INTERGRATED PUBLISHER SIDE PLATFORM
VIDEO/DISPLAY
ADVERTISING
SERVER
(3RD PARTY)
BROADCAST
HEAD-END
SMART-TV APPLICATION
ICAREUS ADDRESSABLE TV
SOLUTION
BROADCASTER’S
LINEAR
ADVERTISING
TRAFFIC SYSTEM
(3RD PARTY)
CALL-TO-ACTIONS
(MICROSITES, VIDEOS,
COUPONS,..)
ICAREUS AUDIENCE
MONITORING TV VIEWING USAGE
AND ANALYTICS
ADVERTISING
INFORMATION
ADDRESSABLETV
CAMPAIGN
MANAGEMENT
ADDRESSABLE TV CAMPAIGN DATA
ADDRESSABLETV
TRIGGERS
ICAREUS
REAL-TIME
MANIPULATION
OF DELIVERY
3rd PARTY DATA
SOURCES FOR
TARGETING
PURPOSES
49. AD-TECH
Adtech platform integration is required
for programmable advertising
Programmable is supported by
• SwitchIn
• VideoSwap for maximum ad-fill
Icareus already offer out-of-box integrations
• OOYALA
• Freewheel
• Adform
• IAB VAST/VPAID
49
VAST/VPAID
50. BROADCAST PLAYOUT
Broadcast head-end playout system is
needed for Addressable TV signalling
and real-time synchonisation
Icareus Playout is a trusted broadcast platform
for AddressableTV
• HbbTV signalling
• Integrations to broadcasters playout and/or traffic
management systems to trigger addressableTV
ads
Required by
• ActiveAd
• VideoSwap
• Promote (optional)
50
51. Mr Antti Piha
Account Executive
e. antti.piha@icareus.com
m. +358 505112819
FOR MORE INFO VISIT OUR WEBSITE: http://www.icareus.com/addressable-tv/
FOR TECHNICAL INFO AND CASE DESCRIPTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT US AND WE HELP YOU :
Icareus Sales
e. sales@icareus.com
p. +358 9 22890801
Web. www.icareus.com
LinkedIn:
Twitter:
Facebook:
Mr Mikko Karppinen
Director
e. Mikko.Karppinen@icareus.com
m. +358 415015993
s. mtkarppi
CONTACT DETAILS
Mr Toni Leiponen
Managing Director
e. Toni.Leiponen@icareus.com
m. +358 415015996
s. toni.leiponen