Question 1 Select all the true statements about variance analysi.docx
MKT 100-021 Brand Management and Metrics Lesson
1. Welcome to MKT 100-021Week 9 – Brand management Anthony Francescucci Assistant Professor, Marketing Please ensure all electronic devices are in “silent mode”, “vibrate mode” or “turned off” 1
23. Break Even Analysis 23 Revenues Total Costs (when VC Stacked onto FC = Total Costs) Break-Even Point Profit Fixed Costs Loss
24. BREAK EVEN point / Break Even Sales 24 How many units of Product X do I need to sell before I start making money? How many units of Product X do I need to sell to cover fixed / overhead costs? To cover a specific profit goal? Fixed Costs Break-Even Point (Sales) Contribution Margin /unit
25. REMEMBER ACME COACH 25 Contribution Margin Revenue COGS or Variable Costs $150 $450 $300 $15,500 Break-Even Point (Sales) Fixed Costs 103.3 units Contribution Margin /unit $150
26. Consider this scenario 26 Contribution Margin Revenue COGS or Variable Costs $200 $350 $100 + $50 $30,000 Break-Even Point (Sales) Fixed Costs 150 units Contribution Margin /unit $200
27. Suppose further 27 Contribution Margin Revenue COGS or Variable Costs $200 $350 $100 + $50 $55,000 Break-Even Point (Sales) Fixed Costs 275 units Contribution Margin /unit $200
30. Metrics Mastery 8 Marking Return On Investment (MROI) OR Return On Marketing Investment (ROMI) 30
31. CONSIDER THIS SCENARIO 31 A farm equipment company was considering a direct mail campaign to remind Customers to have tractors serviced before spring planting. The campaign is expected to cost $7000 and to increase revenue from $25,000 to $50,000. The contribution margin on tractor servicing revenues (after parts and labour) averages 60% How do we determine if this is a good marketing investment decision?
32. Marketing ROI - is a metric used to measure the overall effectiveness of a marketing campaign by considering the incremental contribution over the cost of the campaign. marketing Return on Investment 32 Contribution Margin $ Attributable to Marketing Revenue Attributable to Marketing Contribution Margin Percent Marketing Costs _ X Return On Marketing Investment (ROMI)% x 100 = Marketing Costs (Source: Farris, Bendle, Pfeifer, Reibstein, 2008)
33. MROI Example 1 A farm equipment company was considering a direct mail campaign to remind Customers to have tractors serviced before spring planting. The campaign is expected to cost $7000 and to increase revenue from $25,000 to $50,000. The contribution on tractor servicing revenues (after parts and labour) averages 60% Revenue Attributable to Marketing Contribution Percent Marketing Costs _ X Return On Marketing Investment (ROMI) = $8,000 $15,000 Marketing Costs 60% $7,000 $25,000 114.3% x 100 $7,000 (Source: Farris et. al, 2008) 33
34. MROI Example 2 34 Revenue Attributable to Marketing Contribution Percent Marketing Costs _ X Return On Marketing Investment (ROMI) = $3,000 $4,500 Marketing Costs ($10-$1)/$10 = 90% $1000 + 500 X $1 = $1,500 500 X $10 = $5,000 200% x 100 $1,500
35. MROI Example 3 35 Revenue Attributable to Marketing Contribution Percent Marketing Costs _ X Return On Marketing Investment (ROMI) = $200 $1,600 Marketing Costs ($10-$2)/$10 = 80% $1000 + 200 X $2 = $1,400 200 X $10 = $2,000 14% x 100 $1,400
The break-even level represents the sales amount – in either unit or revenue terms – that is required to cover total costs (both fixed and variable). Profit at break-even is zero. Break-even is only possible if a firm’s prices are higher than its variable costs per unit Break-even analysis is useful in a variety of situations to marketers It is often used to evaluate the likely profitability of marketing actions that affect fixed costs, prices, or variable costs per unit
The break-even point for any business activity is defined as the level of sales at which neither a profit nor a loss is made on that activity That is where Total Revenues = Total Costs