The document summarizes a presentation about measuring the ROI of content marketing for complex B2B organizations. It discusses building the business case for content marketing, finding the budget, and measuring ROI. Specifically, it provides tips on how to show executives the potential reach, engagement, leads and conversions that content marketing can generate. It also presents frameworks for calculating the ROI of content marketing based on objectives like reach, engagement, conversions and retaining customers. Overall, the presentation makes the case that content marketing can deliver measurable business results and a positive ROI for B2B companies.
Instant Digital Issuance: An Overview With Critical First Touch Best Practices
How To Sell Content Marketing To Executives
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A Content Formula For
Complex B2B Organizations
Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
Author, The Content Formula
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
① Build the Business Case for Content Marketing
② Find the Budget for Content Marketing
③ Measure Content Marketing ROI in Business Terms
@BrennerMichael @VelocityTweets #CMWorld
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CONTENT MARKETING
Articles
News
Infographics
Social Content
Quizzes
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Podcasts
How-To Guides
Events
Newsletters
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
15
80
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search/SocialVolume
What is Content Marketing?
(100 - 3000 X)
How do I succeed with
Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help
me with content
marketing?
(1)
Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
-40% Over-exposed online ads cause sales to DECLINE
(Advertising Research Foundation)
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• Executive PowerPoints
• Whitepapers
• Customer Service and Sales FAQs
• Your emails = answers
• Cover competitor and industry research, video, infographics
• Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
• Create a list of top influencers, best conferences, best quotes, best stats
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to
primary channel
Distribute content
to earned media
Distribute content
to paid media
Measure ROI of
content marketing
Optimize and target
distribution
Optimize for
subscriptions
& offers
Marketing ROI
is the #1 Objective
for Marketers in 2016
Documented
content marketing
strategy
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content”
and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have
never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors
10,000 Subscribers
1,000 Leads
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
72. Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
--> Subscribers produce 38X ROI
--> Subscribers and are 9X more likely to convert
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
The Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
The Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads
X Conversion Rate
X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL
x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)
x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL)
x 40% Closed / Won
x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Retention
The Value of Retention=
Lifetime Value $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
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Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
Author, The Content Formula
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
Book Me To Speak:
michael@marketinginsidergroup.com
Notas do Editor
We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing?
To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?