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AARHUS
     UNIVERSITY




COMPUTATION OF INTERNET
MARKETING METRICS



Jacob L. Orquin, Ph.D.
Department of Business Administration
Aarhus University



                              ASB AU
                                MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




CONVERSION RATE (CR)
Definition
The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who comply with one of
the business goals, i.e. make a transaction, download a whitepaper, sign
up for a newsletter etc.


Computation
CR = conversions / visitors


Example
100 conversions / 2000 visitors = 0.05   ->   conversion rate is 5%


                                                                 ASB AU
                                                                   MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




CLICK THROUGH RATE (CTR)
Definition
The CTR is the number of people who click on an ad, such as a banner or a
paid placement in adwords or another content network.


Computation
CTR = visitors / ad views


Example
100 visitors / 4000 ad views = 0.025   ->   click through rate is 2.5%



                                                                  ASB AU
                                                                    MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




COST PER CLICK (CPC)
Definition
The CPC is the price you pay for acquiring one visitor to your website.


Computation
CPC = total ad spend / visitors


Example
$500 / 200 visitors = 2.5   ->    cost per click is $2.5




                                                                  ASB AU
                                                                    MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




COST PER MILLE (CPM)
Definition
CPM is the price you pay for a thousand exposures of a ad, such as a
banner advertisement on, for instance, a content website.


Computation
CPM is typically negotiated between the content website and the
advertiser but could hypothetically be computed as:
CPM = (ad spend / ad views) * 1000


Example
$100 / 20.000 ad views * 1000 = 5    ->   cost per mille is $5
                                                                 ASB AU
                                                                   MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA)
Definition
CPA is the price you pay for acquiring one customer or one conversion. The
CPA is sometimes negotiated betwéen an affiliate partner and the
advertiser.


Computation
CPA = ad spend / conversions    (alternatively: CPA = CPC / CR)


Example
$1000 / 200 conversions = 5    ->   cost per acquisition is $5


                                                                  ASB AU
                                                                    MAPP
AARHUS
       UNIVERSITY




RETURN ON INVESTMENT (ROI)
Definition
The ROI is the percentage of return on a given investment. If you invest
$100 and get $200 back that corresponds to a ROI of 100%.


Computation
ROI = (return – investment) / investment


Example
($100 - $80) / $80 = 0.25   ->   return on investment is 25%



                                                                 ASB AU
                                                                   MAPP
AARHUS
      UNIVERSITY




CONTACT

Jacob L Orquin, Ph.D.
Department of Business Administration
Aarhus University
E-mail: jalo@asb.dk

Check out my company:
www.userpilot.dk




                                        ASB AU
                                          MAPP

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Online Marketing Metrics: How to compute them

  • 1. AARHUS UNIVERSITY COMPUTATION OF INTERNET MARKETING METRICS Jacob L. Orquin, Ph.D. Department of Business Administration Aarhus University ASB AU MAPP
  • 2. AARHUS UNIVERSITY CONVERSION RATE (CR) Definition The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who comply with one of the business goals, i.e. make a transaction, download a whitepaper, sign up for a newsletter etc. Computation CR = conversions / visitors Example 100 conversions / 2000 visitors = 0.05 -> conversion rate is 5% ASB AU MAPP
  • 3. AARHUS UNIVERSITY CLICK THROUGH RATE (CTR) Definition The CTR is the number of people who click on an ad, such as a banner or a paid placement in adwords or another content network. Computation CTR = visitors / ad views Example 100 visitors / 4000 ad views = 0.025 -> click through rate is 2.5% ASB AU MAPP
  • 4. AARHUS UNIVERSITY COST PER CLICK (CPC) Definition The CPC is the price you pay for acquiring one visitor to your website. Computation CPC = total ad spend / visitors Example $500 / 200 visitors = 2.5 -> cost per click is $2.5 ASB AU MAPP
  • 5. AARHUS UNIVERSITY COST PER MILLE (CPM) Definition CPM is the price you pay for a thousand exposures of a ad, such as a banner advertisement on, for instance, a content website. Computation CPM is typically negotiated between the content website and the advertiser but could hypothetically be computed as: CPM = (ad spend / ad views) * 1000 Example $100 / 20.000 ad views * 1000 = 5 -> cost per mille is $5 ASB AU MAPP
  • 6. AARHUS UNIVERSITY COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) Definition CPA is the price you pay for acquiring one customer or one conversion. The CPA is sometimes negotiated betwéen an affiliate partner and the advertiser. Computation CPA = ad spend / conversions (alternatively: CPA = CPC / CR) Example $1000 / 200 conversions = 5 -> cost per acquisition is $5 ASB AU MAPP
  • 7. AARHUS UNIVERSITY RETURN ON INVESTMENT (ROI) Definition The ROI is the percentage of return on a given investment. If you invest $100 and get $200 back that corresponds to a ROI of 100%. Computation ROI = (return – investment) / investment Example ($100 - $80) / $80 = 0.25 -> return on investment is 25% ASB AU MAPP
  • 8. AARHUS UNIVERSITY CONTACT Jacob L Orquin, Ph.D. Department of Business Administration Aarhus University E-mail: jalo@asb.dk Check out my company: www.userpilot.dk ASB AU MAPP