SlideShare uma empresa Scribd logo
1 de 9
LTV 
The Most Important Metric In App Analytics 
And How To Calculate It!
Lifetime Value 
Lifetime Value, often shortened to LTV, is the measure 
of the revenue a customer will bring during their 
lifetime of using your application. 
Many, including 100% of the 60 developers we 
surveyed, say it is the most vital number you need to 
know about your business.
How Do I Calculate 
Lifetime Value?
The data 
Customer Churn: This is the rate at which you lose customers 
during a given period, normally measured monthly. It is the 
number of people who left your app, expressed as a percentage 
of the number of people who could have left. 
Average Revenue Per User: This is the revenue you generate, 
on average, from each user of your application. This can 
be calculated by adding up the revenue you generate each 
month, and dividing it by the total number of users.
The formula 
The formula for calculating LTV is pretty simple. It is:
An example - Data 
Aperture Apps has 1,000 users of its popular application. From 
advertising and selling some simple In-App Purchase items, it makes $500 
per month. Each month it loses 300 users of its application from the pool of 
people who were using it the month before. 
With these numbers we can work out ARPU and Churn, and therefore 
calculate LTV. 
ARPU = Monthly Revenue from Users / Monthly Number of Users = $500 / 
1,000 = $0.50 
Churn = Percentage of people who could leave and did leave = 300 out of 
1000 = 30% 
We can now pipe this data into our LTV formula.
An example - Formula 
If we pipe the information from the previous slide into the LTV 
formula, we get: 
Which shows us that we have an LTV of $1.67. 
It’s that easy!
$1.67 
The lifetime value of an Aperture Apps customer.
Got a Question? 
Read more about LTV on the Tapdaq blog.

Mais conteúdo relacionado

Destaque

Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Sarah Wilz, M.Ed
 
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a Spreadsheet
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a SpreadsheetTwo Methods for Modeling LTV with a Spreadsheet
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a SpreadsheetEric Seufert
 
Dropbox Startup Lessons Learned
Dropbox Startup Lessons LearnedDropbox Startup Lessons Learned
Dropbox Startup Lessons Learnedgueste94e4c
 
Introduction To Sales Management
 Introduction To Sales Management Introduction To Sales Management
Introduction To Sales ManagementIndankal suresh
 
Introduction to sales management
Introduction to sales managementIntroduction to sales management
Introduction to sales managementGautam Anand
 
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeks
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeksHow Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeks
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeksWealthsimple
 
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitch
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First PitchAdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitch
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitchadpushup
 
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck Template
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck TemplateZenpayroll Pitch Deck Template
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck TemplateJoseph Hsieh
 
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castle
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup CastleThe deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castle
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castleentercastle
 
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch Deck
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch DeckAppVirality.com - Investor Pitch Deck
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch DeckLaxman Papineni
 
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 million
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 millionThe 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 million
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 millionGoCanvas
 
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in Berlin
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in BerlinSwipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in Berlin
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in BerlinSwipes App
 
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >> Podozi
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >>  Podozi500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >>  Podozi
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >> Podozi500 Startups
 
Fittr Pitch Deck
Fittr Pitch DeckFittr Pitch Deck
Fittr Pitch Decknolanperk
 
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed Round
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed RoundThe Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed Round
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed RoundBen Lang
 
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually MatterPocket Your Shop
 

Destaque (19)

Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value (CAC & LTV)
 
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a Spreadsheet
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a SpreadsheetTwo Methods for Modeling LTV with a Spreadsheet
Two Methods for Modeling LTV with a Spreadsheet
 
Dropbox Startup Lessons Learned
Dropbox Startup Lessons LearnedDropbox Startup Lessons Learned
Dropbox Startup Lessons Learned
 
Sales management
Sales managementSales management
Sales management
 
Introduction To Sales Management
 Introduction To Sales Management Introduction To Sales Management
Introduction To Sales Management
 
Introduction to sales management
Introduction to sales managementIntroduction to sales management
Introduction to sales management
 
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeks
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeksHow Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeks
How Wealthsimple raised $2M in 2 weeks
 
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitch
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First PitchAdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitch
AdPushup Fundraising Deck - First Pitch
 
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck Template
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck TemplateZenpayroll Pitch Deck Template
Zenpayroll Pitch Deck Template
 
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castle
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup CastleThe deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castle
The deck we used to raise $270k for our startup Castle
 
SteadyBudget's Seed Funding Pitch Deck
SteadyBudget's Seed Funding Pitch DeckSteadyBudget's Seed Funding Pitch Deck
SteadyBudget's Seed Funding Pitch Deck
 
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch Deck
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch DeckAppVirality.com - Investor Pitch Deck
AppVirality.com - Investor Pitch Deck
 
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 million
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 millionThe 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 million
The 10 most interesting slides that helped our SaaS company raise 9 million
 
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in Berlin
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in BerlinSwipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in Berlin
Swipes pitch deck for Beta Pitch 2013 Finals in Berlin
 
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >> Podozi
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >>  Podozi500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >>  Podozi
500’s Demo Day Batch 16 >> Podozi
 
Square Pitch Deck
Square Pitch DeckSquare Pitch Deck
Square Pitch Deck
 
Fittr Pitch Deck
Fittr Pitch DeckFittr Pitch Deck
Fittr Pitch Deck
 
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed Round
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed RoundThe Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed Round
The Deck We Used to Raise $1M Seed Round
 
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter
5 Mobile App ROI Metrics That Actually Matter
 

The Most Important Metric in App Analytics: LTV

  • 1. LTV The Most Important Metric In App Analytics And How To Calculate It!
  • 2. Lifetime Value Lifetime Value, often shortened to LTV, is the measure of the revenue a customer will bring during their lifetime of using your application. Many, including 100% of the 60 developers we surveyed, say it is the most vital number you need to know about your business.
  • 3. How Do I Calculate Lifetime Value?
  • 4. The data Customer Churn: This is the rate at which you lose customers during a given period, normally measured monthly. It is the number of people who left your app, expressed as a percentage of the number of people who could have left. Average Revenue Per User: This is the revenue you generate, on average, from each user of your application. This can be calculated by adding up the revenue you generate each month, and dividing it by the total number of users.
  • 5. The formula The formula for calculating LTV is pretty simple. It is:
  • 6. An example - Data Aperture Apps has 1,000 users of its popular application. From advertising and selling some simple In-App Purchase items, it makes $500 per month. Each month it loses 300 users of its application from the pool of people who were using it the month before. With these numbers we can work out ARPU and Churn, and therefore calculate LTV. ARPU = Monthly Revenue from Users / Monthly Number of Users = $500 / 1,000 = $0.50 Churn = Percentage of people who could leave and did leave = 300 out of 1000 = 30% We can now pipe this data into our LTV formula.
  • 7. An example - Formula If we pipe the information from the previous slide into the LTV formula, we get: Which shows us that we have an LTV of $1.67. It’s that easy!
  • 8. $1.67 The lifetime value of an Aperture Apps customer.
  • 9. Got a Question? Read more about LTV on the Tapdaq blog.