Join us in this informative webinar as Jeffrey Demers, Director of Search Engine Marketing, Wakefly, Inc., walks us through:
- The basics of Pay-Per-Click advertising
- How to reach the right audience using Google AdWords and boost your ad performance by choosing the right keywords and writing compelling ads
- Best ways to stretch small PPC budgets to the max and still reach business goals
- How to craft a winning PPC strategy based on improving value and decreasing waste
This webinar is ideal for businesses that are new to online advertising, as well as existing AdWords users who want to get more results from their online advertising investment. Encore presentation from April 2012.
From Event to Action: Accelerate Your Decision Making with Real-Time Automation
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
1. Building on the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Presented by Wakefly, Inc.
Presenter Jeff Demers
1800 West Park Drive, Suite 100
Westborough, MA 01581
jdemers@wakefly.com
508-768-0032
2. Agenda
• Introduction to AdWords
• How Google ranks ads
• The importance of structure
• How to choose the right keywords
• How to write great ads
• Live demo
• Q&A
4. In this section we’ll cover...
• An introduction to Google AdWords
• Common questions from new advertisers
• The importance of setting goals
• Where your ads can show: An explanation of the Google Ad Network
• How to sign up
5. What is Google AdWords?
• AdWords is Google’s advertising program
o Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results
on Google.com
• Advertisers can also show ads on hundreds of thousands of websites
o Ads are matched to Web pages relevant to advertisers’ keywords
6. The questions people ask
Is AdWords appropriate for Which keywords
my small business? should I use?
How do I get my ad in How will I be
the #1 position? charged?
How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear?
What questions do you have?
7. Before we begin... what are your goals?
I want to open my email every morning and
see at least 3 new orders.
I want five quality leads a day for
my sales team to call.
I’d like to get as many clicks as I can for
less than $0.80 per click.
I want to double my customer
base.
I’d like to increase sales by 15 percent.
I want at least 40 visits to my
website every day.
I want an ROI of 250 percent on all
sales coming from AdWords.
8. OK, now you know what you want
Where do ads
appear?
13. In this section we’ll cover...
• How the AdWords auction works
• How Google calculates your place in the auction
• What’s Max CPC?
• How Quality Score is calculated
• How all this affects what you pay for a click
14. How does AdWords work?
Instant Auction
A live auction is run for every search
Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid
Quality Factors:
Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad
relevance and historical performance
15. Everyone wants to be in position #1
The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
16. The magic ad ranking formula
x
Maximum
Ad Rank
= Cost-Per-Click Bid
(Max. CPC)
Quality Score
The Bottom Line:
If you have a great Quality Score, you can still show in a
high position with a low bid
17. What is your Max CPC?
• The maximum price you are prepared to pay for a click
• Your ‘bid’ in the AdWords auction
18. What is Quality Score?
• A measure of how relevant and useful your ads are.
• Do your ads & keywords provide a good user experience?
POOR
OK
GREAT
Note: The above example is for demonstration purposes only. It is not meant to indicate the actual quality score of the ads.
20. How Google calculates Quality Score
Clickthrough-Rate (CTR)
Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it?
+
Relevancy
Do your keywords match your ads?
Does the search query match your keyword?
+
Landing Page Quality
Does your landing page provide a good user experience?
21. You can see your Quality Score for each keyword
22. The magic ranking formula - example
Alison, Scott and Jon are all bidding on the keyword ‘zipline kits.’
Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, whose ad will show in first position?
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score
Alison 2nd
8 = $1.00 x 8
Scott = $1.00 x 10
10 1st
Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 3rd
23. How much do I actually pay?
Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your Quality
Score.
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPC
Scott 10 = $1.00 x 10 = (8/10) $.80
Alison 8 = $1.00 x 8 = (7/8) $.88
Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 = minimum $min
24. So you’ll show in a higher position if...
• Your Quality Score is at least 7/10 for each keyword
• Your bids are competitive
• Both!
26. In this section we’ll cover...
• The structure and limits of a typical AdWords account
• Best practices for organizing your account
27. AdWords account structure
AdWords Account
Unique email address & password
Billing information
Campaign Campaign
Daily budget Daily budget
Location/language targeting Location/language targeting
Distribution preference Distribution preference
End date End date
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads
28. The WRONG way to structure an account
AdWords Account
“Website Design” Campaign
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corporate web redesign freelance web designs affordable business websites
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25
29. A BETTER way to structure an account
AdWords Account
“Website Design” Campaign
“Business Web Design” “Corporate Web Design” “Professional Web Design”
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Business Web Design Corporate Web Design Professional Web Design
Award Winning Design & Affordable The Leader’s in Corporate Website Professionally Designed Websites.
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Wakefly.com/Business-Web-Design Wakefly.com/Corporate-Web-Design Wakefly.com/Professional-Web-Design
Business web design corporate web design professional web design
Business website design corporate website design professional website design
Business website designers corporate website designers professional website designers
Web design for my business Web design for my corporate Web design for my professional
Designing business websites Designing corporate websites Designing professional websites
26
30. Structuring your own account for success
• Create one Ad Group for each product or service
• Create one Ad Group with your brand/business name as keywords
• Create additional Ad Groups for variations “B&B” vs. “Bed and Breakfast”
For a Plumber For a Sports For a Bed & Breakfast
emergency plumbing Equipment Store bed & breakfast nashville
hot water repairs Tents b&b nashville
hot water installation sleeping bags cheap nashville hotel
Dishwasher installation portable stoves luxury bed & breakfast
bathroom renovations Backpacks luxury b&b
drain clearing hiking boots nashville inns
Plumber nashville lanterns
swiss amy knives
32. In this section we’ll cover...
• How to begin building your keyword list
• How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle
• Keywords match types
• The Google Keyword Tool
33. Building a keyword list
• Brainstorm business
• Review website
• Think like a customer
• Focus on what differentiates
• Include plural & singular versions
• Include spelling mistakes & variations
• Include product numbers & codes
34. Use the ‘Goldilocks principle’ to pick keywords
• Add all relevant keyword variations: singular/plural and synonyms
• Keyword combinations, accent marks (á, é, í, ó, ú, ñ, ü, etc.)
• Make keywords specific to your product or service
vacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beach
tax tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rd
store dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box sets
bags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbags
accounting cheap accounting software accounting software for petsitting biz
Too General Just Right Too Specific
35. What happens if my keyword is too general?
Example keyword ‘vacation’ -- your ad might show for:
vacation rental The go-go’s vacation
vacation deals disney vacation club
vacation ideas pictures from our vacation by
vacations for kids lynne rae perkins
vacations for singles vacation auctions
vacations for veterans vacation accrual policy
National lampoon’s european vacation Vacation agent magazine
permanent vacation lyrics vacation air conditioning
vacation anxiety
General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
36. Keyword matching options
How keyword
The ad will show when a
Match Type appears in The ad will show when:
searcher types:
AdWords
All words containing one word or Cruise Control
combination of words in any order Caribbean Pictures
Broad Caribbean Cruise
is used as the query. Cruise in Carribean
Caribbean Cruises
Broad Match Queries containing variations of
+Caribbean +Cruise Cruises in Caribean
Modifier each keyword
Carribbean Cruise
Queries are typed in the exact Cheap Caribbean Cruise
order specified. Can have other Caribbean Cruise deals
Phrase “Caribbean Cruise”
words before and/or after. Luxury Caribbean Cruise
Queries must be only & exactly
Caribbean Cruise
Exact [Caribbean Cruise] what the user types in
Ad will not show if
Ads will not appear when this
someone types:
Negative -Tom search term is entered in the query
Tom Cruise
32
37. Examples of negative keywords
Service provider Vacation destination Frequently used
-become -library -free
-study -doctor -lyrics
-class -vet -second hand
-classes -hospital -used
-course -schools -parts
-license -coffee -repairs
-training -cards -wholesale
-jobs -history -pics
-employment -jobs in -pictures
-supplies -pictures -definition of
-tools -news -history
-price -weather -diy
38. The Google Keyword Tool: help finding keywords
Enter your
keyword
Get additional
keyword
suggestions
40. In this section we’ll cover...
• Ad text specifications
• Tips for writing better ads
41. Ad text specifications
Ad title
(25 characters max,
including spaces)
Two description lines
(35 characters max each,
including spaces)
Display URL
(35 characters max,
including spaces)
Destination URL
(1024 characters max,
including spaces)
42. What is a good AdWords ad?
A good ad:
• Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group
• Gets a high clickthrough-rate (CTR)
• Effectively sells your product or service
• Stands out from your competitors
• Includes a call to action
43. What doesn’t work
Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information.
Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
44. 1. What sets your business apart?
Why would someone choose your business over a competitor?
Examples:
“We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009”
“We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made”
“We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time”
“Free shipping if you buy two” “We’re open 7 days a week”
“We have lower prices”
“We offer free quotes”
“We’re having a sale”
This helps you
write useful
ads
45. 2. Can you describe your products or services?
Describe specific or technical details of your products or services.
Examples:
“Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available”
“Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “18 day all-inclusive tour”
“From $16 per square foot” “10 Nashville locations”
“Suitable for diabetics” “24/7 onsite support”
“Dishwasher safe” “On time or it’s free”
“Collectors item” “First class is free”
“Sizes 8-16” “HIPPA compliant”
This helps you
write useful ads
46. 3. What is your call to action?
After someone clicks on your ad and visits your website, what is it you
want them to do next?
Examples:
“Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis”
“Browse through all of our toys” “Order a copy of our brochure”
“Book your rental home online” “Call us and order a pizza”
“Download a 30-day free trial” “Request a call back”
“Sign up for our mailing list”
This helps you
write a call to
action
48. Link to the best landing page
Always direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
49. How to get to your goals – step by step
Experiment!
Try new ads and keywords to get the best to see which perform best.
Track your results
Measure! Have you achieved your goals?
Repeat
51. After this session, you should know
Where Ads Show How to Structure an Account
Show ads on Google.com, the Search Structure your account for success with
Partners, the Google Display Network. campaigns, Ad Groups and keywords.
How to Select Keywords How To Write Ads
Keyword match types, the “Goldilocks” Ad text specifications, tips for writing
principle, using the Google Keyword Tool. more effective ads, calls to action.
53. Building on the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Presented by Wakefly, Inc.
Presenter Jeff Demers
1800 West Park Drive, Suite 100
Westborough, MA 01581
jdemers@wakefly.com
508-768-0032