Allie Herzog walks conference attendees through Social Media 101 introductory information and through more advanced material including..
-best practices in social media
-strategic content creation
-tools the experts use
-an organizational audit
-how to calculate ROI
-how to not let social media bog you down
18. UNDERSTAND YOUR AUDIENCE!
Age
Gender
Income level
Marital status
Need vs. luxury
Most appealing
What do they like?
Where do they get their informa.on?
24. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness
Lead
genera.on
Customer
Marketing engagement
Mix
25. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness
Lead
genera.on
Customer
Marketing engagement
Mix Customer
insight
26. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness
Lead
genera.on
Customer
Marketing engagement
Mix Customer
insight
HR
27. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness Lead
genera.on
Customer
engagement
Marketing Customer
Americans viewed ~3.6 Mix insight
billion video ads in July,
HR
with Hulu genera.ng the
Adver.sing
highest number of video
ad impressions at 783M.
28. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand Lead
awareness genera.on
Customer
engagement
Marketing Customer
insight
Mix HR
Adver.sing
PR
29. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness
Lead
genera.on
Customer
SEO Marketing engagement
PR
Mix Customer
insight
Adver.sing HR
30. INTEGRATE YOUR MARKETING EFFORTS!
Brand
awareness
Reputa.on Lead
management genera.on
SEO
Marketing Customer
engagement
Mix
Customer
PR
insight
Adver.sing HR
47. BEFORE YOU START BLOGGING….!
• Choose a hos.ng plaeorm
• Determine features and func.onality
• Find a niche
• Enroll a team
• Develop an editorial calendar
48. BLOG= Better Luck On Google!
• Title Tags = 66 characters
• U.lize effec.ve plugins (Pla.num SEO, Yet
Another Related Posts Plugin, SEO Friendly
Images, etc.)
• Link building
• Human voice
• U.lize mul.media
49. BLOG DESIGN!
Company
information
Search box
RSS Feed
Email signup
Author
Social Networks
Keyword tags
51. BLOG CONTENT IDEAS!
Current Events
Industry Trends (and commentary)
Top 10 List
Frequently Asked Ques.ons
Review something
Guest bloggers
Expand on Twiier conversa.on
Debunk a myth
Tutorial
Brainstorm
Interes.ng stories about your company
52. Execu/ves from all Fortune 500
companies are LinkedIn members.
A new member joins LinkedIn
approximately every second, and about
half of our members are outside the U.S.
53. MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR PROFILE!
Keyword-rich
120 Characters
Share business
activities with
those that care
Reconnect with
former employers/
colleagues
54. MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR PROFILE!
Ask for
recommendat
ions
Hyperlink to
other places
they can find
you
55. MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR SUMMARY!
• Sell yourself
• Add personality
• Break text up
• Make it interes.ng
Keywords
58. LINKEDIN CONTENT IDEAS!
Current projects
New hires
New business development
Industry exper.se
Recommend others
59. 38% of Twitter users are over 35
years old and make over $100K
Twitter now has 190 million
users tweeting 65 million
times a day
65% of Fortune 100 Executives
have active accounts on Twitter
60. TWITTER NORMS!
@Replies: Respond to or men.on another user
DM/Direct Message: Private message b/w two
users
RT/Retweet: Share someone else’s message
# ‐ Hash tag: Group conversa.ons together
URL Shortners: Shrink and track long hyperlinks
61. PROFILE CONFIGURATION!
• Claim brand username and varia.ons
• Custom Background
• Op.mize bio with keywords
• Logo or photo
62. FIND FOLLOWERS!
• Twiier.grader.com will show you the twiier elite
of your city
• Search.twiier.com will find people twee.ng
about specific words
• Look at who your followers are following
• Thought leaders and bloggers
• Follow hashtags at events and follow amer meet
in person
63. TWITTER CONTENT IDEAS!
Balance of promo.onal, informa.onal & engaging
Use resources
Listen & respond
Monitor your brand
News/Crisis informa.on
Jump into conversa.on
Tips
Company’s take on industry news
Behind the scenes coverage
Links to promo.ons, sales, coupons, etc
68. MORE THAN FUNNY CAT VIDEOS…!
• Video Sharing
• Engage with Audience
• Tell your Story Through True Voice
• SEO
69.
70. SOME “MUST HAVES” FOR SUCCESS…!
Cannot be an amerthought
Op.mize for Search
Call to Ac.on
Speak from the Heart
Show Passion and Excitement
71.
72.
73. VIDEO CONTENT IDEAS!
Funny
Something unique
Behind the scenes look
Product reviews
Interviews
Video blog posts/commentary
How‐to’s
Respond to Crisis
75. BENEFITS OF LOCATION BASED MARKETING!
• Deliver a coupon or a message to phone
• Local ads
• Detailed product informa.on when someone is
standing in front of the product
• Incen.ves for purchase, loyalty, interac.vity
• Provide addi.onal assistance
• Provide event, meet‐up and social opportuni.es
based on a physical loca.on
• Share loca.on with others in a social network
76.
77. OPPORTUNITIES WITH LBS!
Claim your loca.on
“Mayorship Smayorship”
Short term specials
Monitor .ps
Promote your specials/benefits across other
social networking channels
Engage and build rela.onships with customers
83. • Be consistent
• Find your niche
• Use images and mul.media
• Not too short, not too long
• Engage, ask ques.ons
• Reply to comments
• Reference and link to past ar.cles
• Search Engine Friendly posts
90. Make sure your key message is short,
to the point and easy to understand.
91.
92. What will your audience rally behind
you on?
What do THEY really care about?
93. Let your brain take you wherever it
can.
“To raise new questions, new possibilities, to regard old
problems from a new angle requires a creative
imagination and marks the real advances in science.”
- Albert Einstein
109. • Have you secured your brand name across the
board?
• Relevant informa.on
• Keywords
• How does your X benefit your target audience
• Logo vs. Photo
• Custom landing pages
• Strategic number of followers/following
117. Understand the
Metrics First!
What helped spike web traffic
What type of content drives
What Twitter content drove the surge in click
from Twitter?
the most mentions?
throughs?
118. GOOGLE ANALYTICS!
• Visits & Visitors
• Time on Page & Page on Site
• Bounce Rate
• Exit Rate
• Conversion Rate
• Engagement
126. TWITTER METRICS!
The number of followers a user has
The number of unique references and cita/ons of the user in
Twiier
The frequency at which the user is uniquely retweeted
The frequency at which the user is uniquely retwee/ng other
people
The rela.ve frequency at which the user posts updates
127. SOCIAL MEDIA TRACKING!
• Friend/Fan Growth
• Fan Page Interac.on & Ac.vity
• Conversa.on & Engagement
• Traffic Driven to Site
• User Behavior on Site
• LinkedIn Specific Measurement
134. CALCULATE THE VALUE OF A FAN!
Number of Fans x Posts/Day x 30 days = Impressions
Impressions / 1000 x $5 CPM = Monthly Earned
Media
MEM x 12 months = Annual Earned Media
AEM / Number of Fans = VALUE OF YOUR FAN!
135. CALCULATE THE VALUE OF A FAN!
12,014 Fans x 2.5 Posts/Day x 30 days = 901,050
901,050 / 1000 x $5 CPM = $4,505.25
$4,505.25 x 12 months = $54,063
$54,063 / 12,014 Fans =
Each fan is worth $4.50
136.
137.
138. 1. If you’re just gewng started, go slowly
2. Find monitoring tools that work for you and s.ck to them
3. Templates are some.mes ok
4. Your plans will keep you focused
5. Be realis.c in expecta.ons
6. Write in advance and file away
7. Don’t feel bad unsubscribing from feeds
8. Search constantly in twiier
9. Set a reminder for yourself to check in
10. Let others create the content for you
11. Communicate expecta.ons, people will understand
12. Pa.ence
13. Don’t go to sleep with emails in your inbox
14. Ask for outside help when it is needed
15. Unplug, otherwise you will get burnt out. I promise.
139. If you aren’t being
authentic, it’s a waste of
everyone’s time.
INCREASE BRAND AWARENESSSTRATEGIC POSITIONINGREPUTATION MANAGEMENTCUSTOMER SERVICE
Who is going to create your content? Who is going to maintain your social media accounts? Who is going to respond to questions and be the face of your business online? Do you have the technical ability in-house to join the online conversation? If not, are you willing to learn? Can you or someone who works with you write well? You need to be sure you have the necessary people in place to execute a social media marketing plan before you start.
You must let your audience take control of the online conversation and make it their own so they develop an emotional attachment to you, your brand, and your business. Remember, on the social Web, apathy or invisibility is a bigger problem than negativity.
It can be easy to get caught up in the numbers, but don't become a slave to followers and subscribers. It's better to have 1,000 highly engaged, loyal followers than 10,000 followers who sign up to follow you but then never acknowledge you again.
Visitors attempts to track the actual number of people coming to your site.Visits (Sessions) tracks the number of times a visitor came to your site
The % of Visits that see only one page of your site and then leave.• Exit Rate = The % of Visits that leave from a specific page.
• Conversion Rate = The % of Visits that complete a tracked goal in Analytics• Segment Conversion Rate by Source & Campaign to determine what marketing efforts are driving the most qualified visitors to your site.
The number of followers a user hasThe number of unique references and citations of the user in TwitterThe frequency at which the user is uniquely retweetedThe frequency at which the user is uniquely retweeting other peopleThe relative frequency at which the user posts updates
LI:• Measure group membership over time-recommendationsTraffic to website from linkedin
“I'd love to get that information to you, but I need 48 hours. Will that be okay, or do you need it sooner?”“I don't have the answer to that, but I'd like to send your request to someone who does and have them respond. Is that okay?”“Hey there, I got your note but need a little time to respond. I'll be back to you within the day.”To your boss, perhaps: “I'd like to complete this project, but here's the information/resources I'm missing to get it done…”