This is a presentation that Greater Halifax Partnership's Maria McGowan delivered to member of the Downtown Halifax Business Commission on March 29, 2011
The Contemporary World: The Globalization of World Politics
Social Media 101
1. Social Media 101
Presentation to members of
Downtown Halifax Business Commission
March 29, 2010
Maria McGowan
Internet & Marketing Specialist
Greater Halifax Partnership
2. The Social Media bubble will burst
• There is no bubble
• The tools will change, the platforms will evolve
• We’re hard-wired to be social
• We did not grow tired of the telephone, television or the
internet
• It’s value is too great to give up
• Mobile technology is the game changer
3. Anyone can do that job
Anyone can do that job
• Just because someone spends time on Facebook doesn’t
mean that he/she is qualified to be an online community
manager for your organization
• Not as simple as managing a personal social media account
• Set criteria, guidelines and even a strategy
• This is a serious, legitimate activity
5. Be yourself
• Listen
• Keep RT’s to a minimum
• Share original ideas (be inspired by best practices)
• Be creative, clever and find angles
• Be positive
• Keep at it and ditch the corporate speak
• Handle negativity on an individual basis
• Don’t be a parrot
10. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
11. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
12. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
13. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
14. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
15. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones
16. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones
• Senior exec’s are tweeting
17. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones
• Senior exec’s are tweeting
• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc
18. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones
• Senior exec’s are tweeting
• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc
• Annual awards (internal)
19. Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media
• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics
• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan
• Monthly reporting
• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)
• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)
• Newsroom environment
• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones
• Senior exec’s are tweeting
• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc
• Annual awards (internal)
• Experimenting/ learning environment
22. It’s not just about…
Facebook likes or followers on Twitter
23. But they’re good for measuring “engagement”
For example
• Shares
• Mentions (positive, negative or neutral)
• Blog comments
• Retweets
• @mentions
• email opens and click through rates
• “likes” of a Facebook page
… That kind of stuff
24. It’s really about
• Lowered cost of new customer acquisition
• Reduction in average customer serving costs
• Increasing customer satisfaction
26. What are your social media objectives
- awareness?
- lead generation?
- visits to website
- more relationships?
27. There are 3 categories of measurement
Quantitative Metrics
Qualitative Metrics
ROI Metrics
28. #1 Quantitative Metrics
These metrics are data-intensive & number-oriented.
Success Metrics Goal
monthly sales directly linked to Twitter $ monthly sales
new customers directly linked to $ monthly sales directly linked to
Twitter Twitter
29. Dell is capitalizing on Twitter’s
real-time nature for exclusive,
limited – customer / limited-period offers
30. #2 Qualitative Metrics
These metrics have an emotional component
Here’s a campaign to increase satisfaction:
Success Metrics Goal
Amount of positive comments sent to Amount of positive conversations
customers per week within a given about your organization or company
time per week
Amount of good suggestions that your Amount of suggestions collected per
company hadn’t thought of month and amount that you actually
implement
31. Users felt that they had a role in the decision making
process of the company.
They felt that Starbucks cared.
32. #3 ROI Metrics
All roads lead to here
Conversion rates:
Success Metrics Goal
% of people you converted from a Increased customers
prospect to a customer on your e-
commerce site
How many people you converted from a Increased clients
prospect to a client on your B2B site
34. Understand your Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
It’s the most important formula in social media
CLV is the amount of revenue a customer will bring to your
company over the course of his/her lifetime with your brand.
35. Estimating your Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
For example:
Typical customer spends $10 per month and
stays loyal for 3 years.
$10 x 12 months x 3 years = $360 (CLV)
36. Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and social media
Many people use 10% of their CLV as a starting point.
So they’ll spend $36 to acquire 1 new customer
37. Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and social media
$36 is what it takes to get 1 customer.
Let’s say you want to run a Social Media campaign to get
100 customers
$36 x 100 = $ 3,600 campaign budget
38. What $3,600 can get you
Landing page?
Mobile app?
Monthly e-newsletter with tips to stay in
front of prospects and new customers?
Video(s)?
Facebook ads or LinkedIn ads…?
Test…test…test…