SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 3
Download to read offline
www.devinepowers.com




Understanding Cost Per Click




1801 Market St, Suite 290 Philadelphia, PA 19103   T 215-568-2525 jgibbard@devinepowers.com
Devine + Powers




Understanding Cost Per Click
Cost per click advertising online works by charging you a certain amount of money for
each click on your advertisement. Googleʼs Adwords is the most popular platform for
this type of advertising. Many people can understand the benefit of using Search
Engine Marketing but few seem to be able to understand how much they should be
paying per click. Hereʼs how...




Conversions
The first thing to cover is what a conversion is. A conversion can mean virtually
anything, but it defines an action. A conversion could be that someone submits
an RFP, downloads a White Paper or buys a 10 pack of socks. The Conversion
defines what the outcome you’re hoping for is. If you can assign a dollar value to
that action, you can determine what you should be willing to pay.



The Two Main Factors
To determine the ROI of a cost per click campaign is simple, provided that you have two
pieces of informations.

1) What is your conversion rate? How may leads do you need to close on piece of
   business? How many visitors will take the action you want? Do you close once
   every ten leads? Is it more like one out of every hundred?

2) What is the value of a conversion. Is a conversion worth $10, $100, $10,000?

If you possess these two pieces of information, you can determine how much you
should be willing to pay for every click.




Name of report
                                                                         1
Devine + Powers




The Formula
Cost per click is often determined by the following formula.

v = Value of Conversion - how much is each person who takes an action worth
to you?

r = Conversion Rate - how many clicks do you need to convert?

c = Cost per Click = the price you'd pay per click to break even


v/r=c
If a conversion is worth $100 (v)

It takes 10 clicks to convert (r)

$100/10 = $10
You can pay up to $10 per click.
Anything less is profit, anything more is a loss.

There you go. That’s the easiest way to think of it.




Name of report
                                                               2

More Related Content

Viewers also liked

Open house 2011 tara & peta
Open house 2011 tara & petaOpen house 2011 tara & peta
Open house 2011 tara & petacoolingt
 
6 july issue - elections
6   july issue - elections6   july issue - elections
6 july issue - electionsJoy Roxborough
 
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013aalcalar
 
A2 Audience research
A2 Audience research A2 Audience research
A2 Audience research Miss Eardley
 
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation Ratio
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation RatioRedefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation Ratio
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation RatioTom Heston MD
 
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)Why should you become a magistrate (task2)
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)ShannHamnett
 
Livret personnel de compétences diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)
Livret personnel de compétences   diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)Livret personnel de compétences   diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)
Livret personnel de compétences diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)midenhoerdt
 
M02 inside selling_managers_wrap
M02 inside selling_managers_wrapM02 inside selling_managers_wrap
M02 inside selling_managers_wrapFitira
 

Viewers also liked (8)

Open house 2011 tara & peta
Open house 2011 tara & petaOpen house 2011 tara & peta
Open house 2011 tara & peta
 
6 july issue - elections
6   july issue - elections6   july issue - elections
6 july issue - elections
 
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013
Clase 3 jueves 19 sep 2013
 
A2 Audience research
A2 Audience research A2 Audience research
A2 Audience research
 
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation Ratio
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation RatioRedefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation Ratio
Redefining the Transient Ischemic Dilation Ratio
 
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)Why should you become a magistrate (task2)
Why should you become a magistrate (task2)
 
Livret personnel de compétences diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)
Livret personnel de compétences   diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)Livret personnel de compétences   diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)
Livret personnel de compétences diaporama familles - juillet 2010 (2)
 
M02 inside selling_managers_wrap
M02 inside selling_managers_wrapM02 inside selling_managers_wrap
M02 inside selling_managers_wrap
 

Similar to Understanding cost per click

Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?vfblane
 
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?BudEvans
 
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)Joni Salminen
 
The Marketers Map of the Digital Goldmine
The Marketers Map of the Digital GoldmineThe Marketers Map of the Digital Goldmine
The Marketers Map of the Digital GoldmineFilipp Paster
 
Basic AdWords terms for business owners
Basic AdWords terms for business ownersBasic AdWords terms for business owners
Basic AdWords terms for business ownersDigital Ferry
 
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results Guaranteed
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results GuaranteedHow To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results Guaranteed
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results GuaranteedBringShare.com
 
Post campaign- Leap Junction
Post campaign- Leap JunctionPost campaign- Leap Junction
Post campaign- Leap Junctionabhishek iyer
 
Introduction to Google Adwords.
Introduction to Google Adwords.Introduction to Google Adwords.
Introduction to Google Adwords.Digital Trainee
 
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3dconstan
 
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmUnderstand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmAK DigiHub
 
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising Arjun Dev Arora
 
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE download
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE downloadRaving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE download
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE downloadnick31m
 
Online Advertising & Analytics for the Writer
Online Advertising & Analytics for the WriterOnline Advertising & Analytics for the Writer
Online Advertising & Analytics for the WriterTom Haney
 
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulae
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulaeGoogle a dwords and basic concepts with formulae
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulaeWebwing Technologies
 

Similar to Understanding cost per click (20)

Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
 
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
Does Pay-Per-Click have a future?
 
Day 1
Day 1Day 1
Day 1
 
Pay Per Click Ads
Pay Per Click AdsPay Per Click Ads
Pay Per Click Ads
 
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)
MA8 Digitaalinen markkinointi (luento 4)
 
The Marketers Map of the Digital Goldmine
The Marketers Map of the Digital GoldmineThe Marketers Map of the Digital Goldmine
The Marketers Map of the Digital Goldmine
 
Basic AdWords terms for business owners
Basic AdWords terms for business ownersBasic AdWords terms for business owners
Basic AdWords terms for business owners
 
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results Guaranteed
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results GuaranteedHow To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results Guaranteed
How To: Grow a Business Wihout the Guesswork - Marketing Results Guaranteed
 
Post campaign- Leap Junction
Post campaign- Leap JunctionPost campaign- Leap Junction
Post campaign- Leap Junction
 
Introduction to Google Adwords.
Introduction to Google Adwords.Introduction to Google Adwords.
Introduction to Google Adwords.
 
Are you a number tracker
Are you a number trackerAre you a number tracker
Are you a number tracker
 
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3
E-commerce for the Imaging Supplies Industry: Part 2 of 3
 
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmUnderstand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
 
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising
ReTargeting and the Future Of Display Advertising
 
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE download
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE downloadRaving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE download
Raving Fan Creation by Brad Wolansky FREE download
 
How to optimise your conversation rate?
How to optimise your conversation rate?How to optimise your conversation rate?
How to optimise your conversation rate?
 
Online Advertising & Analytics for the Writer
Online Advertising & Analytics for the WriterOnline Advertising & Analytics for the Writer
Online Advertising & Analytics for the Writer
 
By the Numbers: The ROI of PR
By the Numbers: The ROI of PRBy the Numbers: The ROI of PR
By the Numbers: The ROI of PR
 
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulae
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulaeGoogle a dwords and basic concepts with formulae
Google a dwords and basic concepts with formulae
 
Bid management ppt
Bid management pptBid management ppt
Bid management ppt
 

More from Devine + Powers

Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of Influence
Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of InfluenceSocial Media 100A - The Changing Nature of Influence
Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of InfluenceDevine + Powers
 
We put all our cards on the table
We put all our cards on the tableWe put all our cards on the table
We put all our cards on the tableDevine + Powers
 
Reving up a name brand auto repair
Reving up a name brand auto repairReving up a name brand auto repair
Reving up a name brand auto repairDevine + Powers
 
Managing a management brand
Managing a management brandManaging a management brand
Managing a management brandDevine + Powers
 
Making news for newsmakers
Making news for newsmakersMaking news for newsmakers
Making news for newsmakersDevine + Powers
 
Forget the tricks learn the trade
Forget the tricks learn the tradeForget the tricks learn the trade
Forget the tricks learn the tradeDevine + Powers
 
Social Media: Generating Leads and Beyond
Social Media: Generating Leads and BeyondSocial Media: Generating Leads and Beyond
Social Media: Generating Leads and BeyondDevine + Powers
 
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10Devine + Powers
 

More from Devine + Powers (16)

Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of Influence
Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of InfluenceSocial Media 100A - The Changing Nature of Influence
Social Media 100A - The Changing Nature of Influence
 
UgMO ProHome Fact Sheet
UgMO ProHome Fact SheetUgMO ProHome Fact Sheet
UgMO ProHome Fact Sheet
 
We put all our cards on the table
We put all our cards on the tableWe put all our cards on the table
We put all our cards on the table
 
Statistics
StatisticsStatistics
Statistics
 
Spin off
Spin offSpin off
Spin off
 
Reving up a name brand auto repair
Reving up a name brand auto repairReving up a name brand auto repair
Reving up a name brand auto repair
 
Polish the brand
Polish the brandPolish the brand
Polish the brand
 
Managing a management brand
Managing a management brandManaging a management brand
Managing a management brand
 
Making news for newsmakers
Making news for newsmakersMaking news for newsmakers
Making news for newsmakers
 
Making a big splash
Making a big splashMaking a big splash
Making a big splash
 
Loud and clear
Loud and clearLoud and clear
Loud and clear
 
Forget the tricks learn the trade
Forget the tricks learn the tradeForget the tricks learn the trade
Forget the tricks learn the trade
 
Big attraction
Big attractionBig attraction
Big attraction
 
Be prepared
Be preparedBe prepared
Be prepared
 
Social Media: Generating Leads and Beyond
Social Media: Generating Leads and BeyondSocial Media: Generating Leads and Beyond
Social Media: Generating Leads and Beyond
 
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10
Devine Powers Social Media 10-in-10
 

Recently uploaded

PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation Final
PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation FinalPHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation Final
PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation FinalPanhandleOilandGas
 
Power point presentation on enterprise performance management
Power point presentation on enterprise performance managementPower point presentation on enterprise performance management
Power point presentation on enterprise performance managementVaishnaviGunji
 
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al MizharAl Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizharallensay1
 
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024Marel
 
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business Potential
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business PotentialFalcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business Potential
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business PotentialFalcon investment
 
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for ViewingMckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for ViewingNauman Safdar
 
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdf
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdfBeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdf
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdfDerekIwanaka1
 
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck Template
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck TemplateNew 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck Template
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck TemplateCannaBusinessPlans
 
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentation
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration PresentationUneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentation
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentationuneakwhite
 
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 UpdatedCannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 UpdatedCannaBusinessPlans
 
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...ssuserf63bd7
 
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...
joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...NadhimTaha
 
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Oman
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in OmanMifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Oman
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Omaninstagramfab782445
 
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League CityHow to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League CityEric T. Tung
 
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...Falcon Invoice Discounting
 
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investorsFalcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investorsFalcon Invoice Discounting
 
Organizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with CultureOrganizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with CultureSeta Wicaksana
 
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwait
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai KuwaitThe Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwait
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwaitdaisycvs
 

Recently uploaded (20)

PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation Final
PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation FinalPHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation Final
PHX May 2024 Corporate Presentation Final
 
Power point presentation on enterprise performance management
Power point presentation on enterprise performance managementPower point presentation on enterprise performance management
Power point presentation on enterprise performance management
 
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al MizharAl Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
Al Mizhar Dubai Escorts +971561403006 Escorts Service In Al Mizhar
 
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024
Marel Q1 2024 Investor Presentation from May 8, 2024
 
unwanted pregnancy Kit [+918133066128] Abortion Pills IN Dubai UAE Abudhabi
unwanted pregnancy Kit [+918133066128] Abortion Pills IN Dubai UAE Abudhabiunwanted pregnancy Kit [+918133066128] Abortion Pills IN Dubai UAE Abudhabi
unwanted pregnancy Kit [+918133066128] Abortion Pills IN Dubai UAE Abudhabi
 
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business Potential
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business PotentialFalcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business Potential
Falcon Invoice Discounting: Unlock Your Business Potential
 
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for ViewingMckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
Mckinsey foundation level Handbook for Viewing
 
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdf
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdfBeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdf
BeMetals Investor Presentation_May 3, 2024.pdf
 
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck Template
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck TemplateNew 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck Template
New 2024 Cannabis Edibles Investor Pitch Deck Template
 
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentation
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration PresentationUneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentation
Uneak White's Personal Brand Exploration Presentation
 
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 UpdatedCannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
Cannabis Legalization World Map: 2024 Updated
 
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
Horngren’s Cost Accounting A Managerial Emphasis, Canadian 9th edition soluti...
 
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...
joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...joint cost.pptx  COST ACCOUNTING  Sixteenth Edition                          ...
joint cost.pptx COST ACCOUNTING Sixteenth Edition ...
 
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Oman
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in OmanMifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Oman
Mifepristone Available in Muscat +918761049707^^ €€ Buy Abortion Pills in Oman
 
!~+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUD...
!~+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUD...!~+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUD...
!~+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUD...
 
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League CityHow to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
How to Get Started in Social Media for Art League City
 
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
Unveiling Falcon Invoice Discounting: Leading the Way as India's Premier Bill...
 
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investorsFalcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
Falcon Invoice Discounting: The best investment platform in india for investors
 
Organizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with CultureOrganizational Transformation Lead with Culture
Organizational Transformation Lead with Culture
 
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwait
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai KuwaitThe Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwait
The Abortion pills for sale in Qatar@Doha [+27737758557] []Deira Dubai Kuwait
 

Understanding cost per click

  • 1. www.devinepowers.com Understanding Cost Per Click 1801 Market St, Suite 290 Philadelphia, PA 19103 T 215-568-2525 jgibbard@devinepowers.com
  • 2. Devine + Powers Understanding Cost Per Click Cost per click advertising online works by charging you a certain amount of money for each click on your advertisement. Googleʼs Adwords is the most popular platform for this type of advertising. Many people can understand the benefit of using Search Engine Marketing but few seem to be able to understand how much they should be paying per click. Hereʼs how... Conversions The first thing to cover is what a conversion is. A conversion can mean virtually anything, but it defines an action. A conversion could be that someone submits an RFP, downloads a White Paper or buys a 10 pack of socks. The Conversion defines what the outcome you’re hoping for is. If you can assign a dollar value to that action, you can determine what you should be willing to pay. The Two Main Factors To determine the ROI of a cost per click campaign is simple, provided that you have two pieces of informations. 1) What is your conversion rate? How may leads do you need to close on piece of business? How many visitors will take the action you want? Do you close once every ten leads? Is it more like one out of every hundred? 2) What is the value of a conversion. Is a conversion worth $10, $100, $10,000? If you possess these two pieces of information, you can determine how much you should be willing to pay for every click. Name of report 1
  • 3. Devine + Powers The Formula Cost per click is often determined by the following formula. v = Value of Conversion - how much is each person who takes an action worth to you? r = Conversion Rate - how many clicks do you need to convert? c = Cost per Click = the price you'd pay per click to break even v/r=c If a conversion is worth $100 (v) It takes 10 clicks to convert (r) $100/10 = $10 You can pay up to $10 per click. Anything less is profit, anything more is a loss. There you go. That’s the easiest way to think of it. Name of report 2