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Social Media: the most overrated trend in business
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The Radically Digital Division of Proximity BBDO
Does being radically digital make us digital fundamentalists?
The most overrated trend in business
The most underrated trend in business
The new and improved role of traditional media
Social Media: the most overrated trend in business
My guess is that
9 out of the 10 people who believe in
    social media advertising/ROI
are those selling this hype to others



John Jackson, quote from his comment on a Fast Company article about Social Media ROI
THE SOCIALLY SMART(ER) COMMERCIAL
“Our study found that 63% of TV commercial impressions were
    avoided simply by not paying attention to the screen.”
most watched American television broadcast



                                                           one of the most watched sporting events in the world




                              most expensive commercial airtime of the year
$ 120,000/day
+12,000 tweets
Did the Twitter campaign prompt anyone to consider buying an A8 or go to a dealership to test-drive one?




                            Did the tweets inspire an outpouring of positive brand feelings toward Audi?
?
Today the equation to measure
           that doesn't exist




Doug Clark, Audi of America's general manager for social media and customer engagement
How do you gauge the value of a Twitter audience?
http://www.klout.com
Is social media a bit of a black hole?
Social Media: the most underrated trend in business
Where in the Media Spectrum does social media fit?

                                    4,4 million users
                              rs?
                    1 05K use                            25K users?




Google Adwords                         Social Media                             TV advertising



                                         &
Short Term                Short Term                     Long Term                  Long Term
Highly Relevant       Highly Relevant                    Might be Relevant   Might be Relevant
Conversions              Conversions                     Impressions              Impressions
CPA                              CPA                     GRP                              GRP



                                      * Belgian figures
"Typical approaches that focus on
raw fan counts, or the total number
of engagements on a given piece of
content, fail to depict the potential
 and realized scope of social media
        brand impressions"


       The Power of Like, Co   & Facebook, May 2011
To leverage Facebook as a viral platform,
you have to understand what makes it tick
Social Epidemics*: the Law of the Few
                                                               !
                ls
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                             !                    !
                        slide van viral uit vroegere
                        presentatie met daarin meer en
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                                                                   IL
             "               !                    !
                        vaststelling dat het over 1 graad
                                                               !




                                                                   LI
                        gaat




                                                                     !
             "               !                    !            !




                                                                        N
                                                                        S
                             !                    !            !
Only Cert
         ain People
                       Can Drive
                                                  !            !
                                            Trends             !

                     *Malcolm Gladwell: “The Tipping Point”.
Social Epidemics*: the Law of the Few
                          !
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                                         slide van viral uit vroegere
                                         presentatie met daarin meer en
                                         meer en meer

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                                         vaststelling dat het over 1 graad
                                         gaat


                          !                   !
   All people             !                   !
              c
   drive tren an          !
but only s ds,
           ome will
                          !

             Duncan Watts, recent research for McKinsey Quarterly & Yahoo! Research
What we recently stumbled on is that
almost nothing spreads. Instead, the
vast majority of all adoptions happen
 within just one degree of the seed.



      Duncan Watts, Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research
                    in McKinsey Quarterly, July 2011
All of these so-called Viral videos
benefited from tremendous mass-
media coverage. Once you get your
video on the front page of Yahoo!,
    100 million people see that.

So this is not about viral anymore.
       This is mass media.

     Duncan Watts, Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research
                   in McKinsey Quarterly, July 2011
4 million
 3 million
 2 million
 1 million

   21/09             26/09                              10/03




The Standaard homepage article gave an immediate boost in views
and as a result reached much more worldwide mainstream media.
FACEBOOK, A VIRAL PLATFORM
G   E
                       HAN
               IN GC
              H
           ATC
       YE-C
   STE
MO
G   E
                       HAN
               IN GC
              H
           ATC
       YE-C
   STE
MO
fans
friends of fans   fans
6.059
friends of fans   fans



1.254.213
# fans


23.000.000                      784.000.000




    6.059                                                 1.245.213



                                                  # unique friends / fan
                      34                      207


                      The Power of Like, Co   & Facebook, May 2011
ComScore finds a high degree of similarity
     between the tastes of friends.
HOW TO COLLECT FANS (&FRIENDS OF FANS) THE RIGHT WAY?
Two ways to get people to “like” you...




  organic                    marketing efforts
Like Widget
                          “Friend us on FB”




Ads



                                              organic
              Search


                       Friend Suggestion
Like-gates
                    Like us first & win...



                                                 Coupons
                                              Share a wall post
                                                 and get a
                                                  coupon!
                          Invite Friends
                         Invite friends to
                           get benefits.
marketing efforts
                                             Exclusive Content
                                                Leave your
                                             credentials for a
                                               wallpaper...
This begs the question, how much
efforts are consumers willing to exert
 in order to get something in return?




         Alex Bernstein, managing partner at North Social
Two typical consequences




Your virtual fan base resembles or differs from your actual fan base
Two typical consequences




                                                          te
                                                  like-ga




                                                    like wi
                                                           dget



Your brand new fans are staying or leaving you.
UNDERSTANDING HOW SUCCESSFUL POSTS ARE CREATED
Remember this slide?
Luckily for me, Facebook created Edge Rank




 Every post that gets published to the Wall
 receives a quality score, called Edge Rank.
It’s a little bit about math...

              an edge is an interaction with your wall post: a like, a
                    comment, a share as well as the post itself




     Edgerank =          ∑
                         e=1   n
                                   affinitye x weight e x time decay e

                edge
affinity of an                        every type of edge has a            the time decay
                                                                                           is
      is higher                            specific weight:                     higher
                   o
   1) for fans wh act                  1) on the creation side:            1) if an edge h
                                                                                           is
                ter
 frequently indates                   some types of posts are               recent enoug
  with your up                                                                             son
                 tions
                                             worth more                    2) in comparis edge
  2) for interac o are               2) on the interaction side:         with the previ
                                                                                        ou
  by friends whll                    a comment is worth more
      fans as we                       than a like or a share
5 tips & tricks to create better posts
5 tips & tricks to create better posts

     Use content types that are more heavily weighted




     Questions Videos   Pictures   Shares   Wall Posts
5 tips & tricks to create better posts

     Request explicitly for feedback & interaction


                                    +
     Questions Comment    Like   Photo Tags
5 tips & tricks to create better posts

     Time your posts to garner the greatest response.
     Use the Facebook Conversational Calendar via
     http://www.facebook.com/business/pages/
5 tips & tricks to create better posts

     Analyze your page statistics and focus your
     efforts on the best scoring tools, demographics,
     times of day etc.
5 tips & tricks to create better posts

     Use Tools to help you understand what’s behind it all
      Facebook.com/Insights gives basic insights   EdgeRank.com tells you your edgerank




      PageLever has detailed statistics            Vitrue has an extended analytics suite
WHERE DO MY FANS CONSUME MY CONTENT?
It helps to understand what people do on Facebook


        Other 25%                27% Newsfeed




     Apps 10%


                                 21% Profiles
                    17% Photos
Good news? Think Again.

                       1 post/day, 7 days a week only reaches 21% of your fan base!
        27% Newsfeed

                       20%




                       10%




        21% Profiles
hotos                    1 day   2 days     3 days         4 days   5 days     6 days      7 days


                                   The Power of Like, Co            & Facebook, May 2011
Remember this slide?
Depending on your posts’ Edge Score, it ends up...
                 It used to be “simple”...




       Most Recent                           Top News
Depending on your posts’ Edge Score, it ends up...
          ... since two weeks there’s an extra threshold




Ticker                   Recent Stories                    Top Stories
Every light has its shadow...
                      20%
                                                         good posts
                                                                    are reward
                                                             with atten        ed
                      10%                                               tion

                         newsfeed
                        impressions
                                      likes   comments

                      -10%
              tent”
“spammy con shed
 is being puni
                      -20%


                      -30%
FOCUS ON INTERACTIONS VIA OPEN GRAPH APPS
“Like” has been synonym for “am a fan”
but its exact meaning has been more diverse...
Diverse meanings for one verb...


I   10 years of Techno   means   I will visit 10 years of Techno

I   Volvo C30            means   I drive a Volvo C30

I   Porsche Panamera     means   I dream of a Porsche Panamera

I   Levi’s 501 Jeans     means   I want to buy a Levi’s 501 Jeans

I   Chocolate Crumble    means   I just ate a chocolate crumble
Guess what... It       is possible




I   10 years of Techno   means     I      will visit   10 years of Techno

I   Volvo C30            means     I      drive      a Volvo C30

I   Porsche Panamera     means     I      dream of      a Porsche Panamera

I   Levi’s 501 Jeans     means     I      want to buy     a Levi’s 501 Jeans

I   Chocolate Crumble    means     I      just ate     a chocolate crumble
Where to use the custom verbs...




                       want one

                       have one




             website
Where to use the custom verbs...




          want one

          have one


                                       testdrive

                                       buy


website                      webapps
Where to use the custom verbs...




          want one

          have one

                                                        compare
                                          testdrive
                                                        request info
                                          buy


website                         webapps                 facebook apps
Users grant immediate permissions to share on their behalf




         “Add to Timeline” adds basic timeline sharing permissions
Users grant immediate permissions to share on their behalf




       The typical “Allow” button can (optionally!) extend permissions
The result? A timeline update.
Bart Muskala

Bart Muskala
Bart Muskala

Bart Muskala
But will it end up reaching a user’s friends? Similar to post updates...

                    There is a quality score for apps, called Graph Rank.




              Graph Rank


                                             +
        There is also a multiplier on top of GraphRank that is applied to users that are
      interested in same interests, near the same location, both fans of the brand etc.
Depending on an app’s Graph Score, actions ends up...




Ticker               Recent Stories              Top Stories
The distribution of updates...
Most impressions are consumed in the ticker, generating most traffic.
EXTEND YOUR REACH VIA THE AD SYSTEM
The types of ads




                                                                           Jan Algoed likes this
                                          Jan Algoed “
                                                                                 RECENT POST
                                                          “ likes this


             Jan Algoed likes this like            like
like                                                                       like comment
                                                                         “Expandable Ad Unit”
       Ads     Social Ads                 Sponsored Stories
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads

     Make sure to opt for “social” ads over normal ads.




         like                     Jan Algoed likes this like




           average CTR: 0,1%      average CTR: 0,36%
          average interaction:    average interaction:
                0,05%                   0,37%
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads

     Use user’s content to boost sponsored stories’ CTR
      Wildfire’s Storyteller App requests for feedback and generates Sponsored Stories




      Boost from 3,3% to 17% conversion rate
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads

     Make sure to target friends of fans.
     Remark: this is standard behavior when choosing for
     Sponsored Stories.
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads

     Analyze your ads’ statistics and focus your
     efforts on the best scoring formats, messages,
     demographics etc.
5 tips & tricks for more effective ads

     Use tools to get the best out of your ads
      Alchemy by Techlightenment allows for easy AB-testing
Volvo Opendeurdagen Banner Ad Test
           The initial setup...




    !
Volvo Opendeurdagen Banner Ad Test
             The social work-around




                                         Jan Algoed is
                                         attending Volvo
                                         Opendeurdagen 2011


                                                  Volvo Open
!
A target audience of 1.254.213 Facebook users
Short Term Ad Performance expressed in Incidences




7.523.802 1.010
    impressions new fans
                                    0,03%
                                       avg CTR
                                                      2.356
                                                       clicks fans
Long Term Ad Performance expressed in GRPs




GRP = frequency x % reach
Long Term Ad Performance expressed in GRPs
7,5 million impressions reaching almost 640.000 unique Facebook users!




                                       11,8 x      15% = 177

   Jan Algoed is attending Volvo
   Opendeurdagen 2011
                                       11,8 x     39,7% = 468

                                   Total GRP’s                 645
                                   Cost/GRP                1,55 €
Marketing is going to become a much more science-driven activity
The new and improved role of traditional media
We went from a monologue to a
dialogue. Mass media will continue to
play a role. But its role has changed.




       John Hayes, Chief Marketing Officer American Express
To truly engage customers for whom
   “push” advertising is increasingly
irrelevant, companies must do more
      outside the confines of the
  traditional marketing organization


           McKinsey, “We’re all marketers now”
The old consumer decision journey


           many brands




           fewer brands


          final choice



                 BUY
Today’s consumer decision journey

                r
           side
       con                                   eva
                                                lua
                                                      te




           The Loyalty Loop
BO
  ND
         advo
               cate           BUY
                      enjoy
insights
                 media               usage
                                    message
DIABOLO
MODEL          paid                      acted

 impressions                                      WE TALK


               owned                interaction

 expressions                                      YOU TALK


               earned                      real

                 users                 usage
                         metrics
Marketing is going to become a much more science-driven activity
Turning to so-called influentials,
will make it very hard to actually
know or measure what your
communication efforts do for your
brand
so- nulle d influentials,
Turning toThe ca mber o afans lis only of
                           of ctua ly
         e impoy hard tif your content is
                r
will mak it ve rtance t your
                         a
know   or measure wh in invitinrgyconsumers
           successful
                      fo rts do fo our
 com  munito interaf
           cation e ct
 brand
dllr ofi f l uentia s, ll have an
       The nuTraaeitionnflmedia lsti
       g to somb ed a ns isually
                -c
Turninim                      a act on o
                                             f
         p i r venco ifad to le to
         e ot timpe rtrynturoconteplay. Creativity
                a ry ha o r
will makc a
               sn rvnwnmtire im nrtant one.
      su cesasueeenhat your po t is
   ow o r me f l i i vio ng consuur
kn t o in
           tcaaictn efforts do f r yomers
 com  muni er t o
 brand
EK
                       T   WE
                      X
               E   NE
          D SE
     AN
  ME
CO




                                   Social media strategy for suits
Thx!

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Social Media: the most underrated trend in business

  • 1. Social Media: the most overrated trend in business
  • 2.
  • 3. AdNerds The Radically Digital Division of Proximity BBDO
  • 4. Does being radically digital make us digital fundamentalists?
  • 5. The most overrated trend in business The most underrated trend in business The new and improved role of traditional media
  • 6. Social Media: the most overrated trend in business
  • 7. My guess is that 9 out of the 10 people who believe in social media advertising/ROI are those selling this hype to others John Jackson, quote from his comment on a Fast Company article about Social Media ROI
  • 9.
  • 10.
  • 11.
  • 12.
  • 13.
  • 14. “Our study found that 63% of TV commercial impressions were avoided simply by not paying attention to the screen.”
  • 15.
  • 16. most watched American television broadcast one of the most watched sporting events in the world most expensive commercial airtime of the year
  • 17.
  • 18.
  • 20.
  • 22. Did the Twitter campaign prompt anyone to consider buying an A8 or go to a dealership to test-drive one? Did the tweets inspire an outpouring of positive brand feelings toward Audi?
  • 23. ?
  • 24. Today the equation to measure that doesn't exist Doug Clark, Audi of America's general manager for social media and customer engagement
  • 25.
  • 26. How do you gauge the value of a Twitter audience?
  • 28.
  • 29.
  • 30.
  • 31.
  • 32.
  • 33.
  • 34.
  • 35. Is social media a bit of a black hole?
  • 36. Social Media: the most underrated trend in business
  • 37. Where in the Media Spectrum does social media fit? 4,4 million users rs? 1 05K use 25K users? Google Adwords Social Media TV advertising & Short Term Short Term Long Term Long Term Highly Relevant Highly Relevant Might be Relevant Might be Relevant Conversions Conversions Impressions Impressions CPA CPA GRP GRP * Belgian figures
  • 38. "Typical approaches that focus on raw fan counts, or the total number of engagements on a given piece of content, fail to depict the potential and realized scope of social media brand impressions" The Power of Like, Co & Facebook, May 2011
  • 39. To leverage Facebook as a viral platform, you have to understand what makes it tick
  • 40.
  • 41. Social Epidemics*: the Law of the Few ! ls In fluentia ! ! ! ! slide van viral uit vroegere presentatie met daarin meer en meer en meer ! " ! ! ! M <> IL " ! ! vaststelling dat het over 1 graad ! LI gaat ! " ! ! ! N S ! ! ! Only Cert ain People Can Drive ! ! Trends ! *Malcolm Gladwell: “The Tipping Point”.
  • 42.
  • 43. Social Epidemics*: the Law of the Few ! ! ! ! slide van viral uit vroegere presentatie met daarin meer en meer en meer ! <> ! ! ! ! vaststelling dat het over 1 graad gaat ! ! All people ! ! c drive tren an ! but only s ds, ome will ! Duncan Watts, recent research for McKinsey Quarterly & Yahoo! Research
  • 44. What we recently stumbled on is that almost nothing spreads. Instead, the vast majority of all adoptions happen within just one degree of the seed. Duncan Watts, Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research in McKinsey Quarterly, July 2011
  • 45. All of these so-called Viral videos benefited from tremendous mass- media coverage. Once you get your video on the front page of Yahoo!, 100 million people see that. So this is not about viral anymore. This is mass media. Duncan Watts, Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research in McKinsey Quarterly, July 2011
  • 46.
  • 47.
  • 48. 4 million 3 million 2 million 1 million 21/09 26/09 10/03 The Standaard homepage article gave an immediate boost in views and as a result reached much more worldwide mainstream media.
  • 49. FACEBOOK, A VIRAL PLATFORM
  • 50. G E HAN IN GC H ATC YE-C STE MO
  • 51. G E HAN IN GC H ATC YE-C STE MO
  • 52.
  • 53.
  • 54. fans
  • 56. 6.059 friends of fans fans 1.254.213
  • 57. # fans 23.000.000 784.000.000 6.059 1.245.213 # unique friends / fan 34 207 The Power of Like, Co & Facebook, May 2011
  • 58. ComScore finds a high degree of similarity between the tastes of friends.
  • 59. HOW TO COLLECT FANS (&FRIENDS OF FANS) THE RIGHT WAY?
  • 60. Two ways to get people to “like” you... organic marketing efforts
  • 61. Like Widget “Friend us on FB” Ads organic Search Friend Suggestion
  • 62. Like-gates Like us first & win... Coupons Share a wall post and get a coupon! Invite Friends Invite friends to get benefits. marketing efforts Exclusive Content Leave your credentials for a wallpaper...
  • 63.
  • 64. This begs the question, how much efforts are consumers willing to exert in order to get something in return? Alex Bernstein, managing partner at North Social
  • 65. Two typical consequences Your virtual fan base resembles or differs from your actual fan base
  • 66. Two typical consequences te like-ga like wi dget Your brand new fans are staying or leaving you.
  • 67. UNDERSTANDING HOW SUCCESSFUL POSTS ARE CREATED
  • 69. Luckily for me, Facebook created Edge Rank Every post that gets published to the Wall receives a quality score, called Edge Rank.
  • 70. It’s a little bit about math... an edge is an interaction with your wall post: a like, a comment, a share as well as the post itself Edgerank = ∑ e=1 n affinitye x weight e x time decay e edge affinity of an every type of edge has a the time decay is is higher specific weight: higher o 1) for fans wh act 1) on the creation side: 1) if an edge h is ter frequently indates some types of posts are recent enoug with your up son tions worth more 2) in comparis edge 2) for interac o are 2) on the interaction side: with the previ ou by friends whll a comment is worth more fans as we than a like or a share
  • 71. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts
  • 72. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts Use content types that are more heavily weighted Questions Videos Pictures Shares Wall Posts
  • 73. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts Request explicitly for feedback & interaction + Questions Comment Like Photo Tags
  • 74. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts Time your posts to garner the greatest response. Use the Facebook Conversational Calendar via http://www.facebook.com/business/pages/
  • 75. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts Analyze your page statistics and focus your efforts on the best scoring tools, demographics, times of day etc.
  • 76. 5 tips & tricks to create better posts Use Tools to help you understand what’s behind it all Facebook.com/Insights gives basic insights EdgeRank.com tells you your edgerank PageLever has detailed statistics Vitrue has an extended analytics suite
  • 77. WHERE DO MY FANS CONSUME MY CONTENT?
  • 78. It helps to understand what people do on Facebook Other 25% 27% Newsfeed Apps 10% 21% Profiles 17% Photos
  • 79. Good news? Think Again. 1 post/day, 7 days a week only reaches 21% of your fan base! 27% Newsfeed 20% 10% 21% Profiles hotos 1 day 2 days 3 days 4 days 5 days 6 days 7 days The Power of Like, Co & Facebook, May 2011
  • 81. Depending on your posts’ Edge Score, it ends up... It used to be “simple”... Most Recent Top News
  • 82. Depending on your posts’ Edge Score, it ends up... ... since two weeks there’s an extra threshold Ticker Recent Stories Top Stories
  • 83. Every light has its shadow... 20% good posts are reward with atten ed 10% tion newsfeed impressions likes comments -10% tent” “spammy con shed is being puni -20% -30%
  • 84. FOCUS ON INTERACTIONS VIA OPEN GRAPH APPS
  • 85. “Like” has been synonym for “am a fan” but its exact meaning has been more diverse...
  • 86. Diverse meanings for one verb... I 10 years of Techno means I will visit 10 years of Techno I Volvo C30 means I drive a Volvo C30 I Porsche Panamera means I dream of a Porsche Panamera I Levi’s 501 Jeans means I want to buy a Levi’s 501 Jeans I Chocolate Crumble means I just ate a chocolate crumble
  • 87. Guess what... It is possible I 10 years of Techno means I will visit 10 years of Techno I Volvo C30 means I drive a Volvo C30 I Porsche Panamera means I dream of a Porsche Panamera I Levi’s 501 Jeans means I want to buy a Levi’s 501 Jeans I Chocolate Crumble means I just ate a chocolate crumble
  • 88. Where to use the custom verbs... want one have one website
  • 89. Where to use the custom verbs... want one have one testdrive buy website webapps
  • 90. Where to use the custom verbs... want one have one compare testdrive request info buy website webapps facebook apps
  • 91. Users grant immediate permissions to share on their behalf “Add to Timeline” adds basic timeline sharing permissions
  • 92. Users grant immediate permissions to share on their behalf The typical “Allow” button can (optionally!) extend permissions
  • 93. The result? A timeline update.
  • 96. But will it end up reaching a user’s friends? Similar to post updates... There is a quality score for apps, called Graph Rank. Graph Rank + There is also a multiplier on top of GraphRank that is applied to users that are interested in same interests, near the same location, both fans of the brand etc.
  • 97. Depending on an app’s Graph Score, actions ends up... Ticker Recent Stories Top Stories
  • 98. The distribution of updates... Most impressions are consumed in the ticker, generating most traffic.
  • 99. EXTEND YOUR REACH VIA THE AD SYSTEM
  • 100. The types of ads Jan Algoed likes this Jan Algoed “ RECENT POST “ likes this Jan Algoed likes this like like like like comment “Expandable Ad Unit” Ads Social Ads Sponsored Stories
  • 101. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads
  • 102. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads Make sure to opt for “social” ads over normal ads. like Jan Algoed likes this like average CTR: 0,1% average CTR: 0,36% average interaction: average interaction: 0,05% 0,37%
  • 103. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads Use user’s content to boost sponsored stories’ CTR Wildfire’s Storyteller App requests for feedback and generates Sponsored Stories Boost from 3,3% to 17% conversion rate
  • 104. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads Make sure to target friends of fans. Remark: this is standard behavior when choosing for Sponsored Stories.
  • 105. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads Analyze your ads’ statistics and focus your efforts on the best scoring formats, messages, demographics etc.
  • 106. 5 tips & tricks for more effective ads Use tools to get the best out of your ads Alchemy by Techlightenment allows for easy AB-testing
  • 107. Volvo Opendeurdagen Banner Ad Test The initial setup... !
  • 108. Volvo Opendeurdagen Banner Ad Test The social work-around Jan Algoed is attending Volvo Opendeurdagen 2011 Volvo Open !
  • 109. A target audience of 1.254.213 Facebook users
  • 110. Short Term Ad Performance expressed in Incidences 7.523.802 1.010 impressions new fans 0,03% avg CTR 2.356 clicks fans
  • 111. Long Term Ad Performance expressed in GRPs GRP = frequency x % reach
  • 112. Long Term Ad Performance expressed in GRPs 7,5 million impressions reaching almost 640.000 unique Facebook users! 11,8 x 15% = 177 Jan Algoed is attending Volvo Opendeurdagen 2011 11,8 x 39,7% = 468 Total GRP’s 645 Cost/GRP 1,55 €
  • 113. Marketing is going to become a much more science-driven activity
  • 114. The new and improved role of traditional media
  • 115. We went from a monologue to a dialogue. Mass media will continue to play a role. But its role has changed. John Hayes, Chief Marketing Officer American Express
  • 116. To truly engage customers for whom “push” advertising is increasingly irrelevant, companies must do more outside the confines of the traditional marketing organization McKinsey, “We’re all marketers now”
  • 117.
  • 118. The old consumer decision journey many brands fewer brands final choice BUY
  • 119. Today’s consumer decision journey r side con eva lua te The Loyalty Loop BO ND advo cate BUY enjoy
  • 120. insights media usage message DIABOLO MODEL paid acted impressions WE TALK owned interaction expressions YOU TALK earned real users usage metrics
  • 121. Marketing is going to become a much more science-driven activity
  • 122.
  • 123.
  • 124.
  • 125.
  • 126. Turning to so-called influentials, will make it very hard to actually know or measure what your communication efforts do for your brand
  • 127. so- nulle d influentials, Turning toThe ca mber o afans lis only of of ctua ly e impoy hard tif your content is r will mak it ve rtance t your a know or measure wh in invitinrgyconsumers successful fo rts do fo our com munito interaf cation e ct brand
  • 128. dllr ofi f l uentia s, ll have an The nuTraaeitionnflmedia lsti g to somb ed a ns isually -c Turninim a act on o f p i r venco ifad to le to e ot timpe rtrynturoconteplay. Creativity a ry ha o r will makc a sn rvnwnmtire im nrtant one. su cesasueeenhat your po t is ow o r me f l i i vio ng consuur kn t o in tcaaictn efforts do f r yomers com muni er t o brand
  • 129. EK T WE X E NE D SE AN ME CO Social media strategy for suits
  • 130. Thx!